PDA

View Full Version : Sound on Thinkpad 600E

fred7
01-21-2004, 12:45 AM
I am a newbie Knoppix user with a little Linux experience. I have installed the 11/19 version of Knoppix on my IBM Thinkpad 600E. Everything works okay except for the sound. I think "sndconfig" sees the the wrong chip and loads drivers for it. I also get a message, when Knoppix boots, that the file "dev/dsp" cannot be found. I have seen various fixes on the web about adding lines to the "modules.conf" file and have tried them, but no luck so far. Has anyone successfully gotten sound on their 600E? If so, how did you do it?
Thanks in advance!

fred7

ldephil
01-21-2004, 02:26 AM
I have a thinkpad 600E here and the only module that ever gave me sound was to use the soundblaster pro one. That was the case with any distribution and even then I got problems - no sound after suspend/standby and any PCMCIA activity caused major buzzing from the sound system.

Part of the problem, as I understand it from speaking to IBM on several occasions and also SuSE, is that IBM had different revisions to what was nominally the same sound system. This causes real headaches for getting sound to work - I'm not sure why these problems have so much effect on linux where Windows sound generally worked (although far from perfectly).

I had tried the OSSfree and ALSA systems and with various distributions (Redhat, SuSE, mandrake, Knoppix) without any luck. In the end, I gave up with the idea of sound under linux and simply pretended the machine had no sound functionality at all.

Hellmark
01-25-2004, 03:51 AM
On my 380XD I know that the soundchip wasnt at the normal location, so I had to fiddle around with that. I'll see about digging up what I have for ya

ianf2
03-01-2004, 02:30 AM
If anyone finds a fix, could ya pass it to me too?

Thanx.

pstoddard
04-30-2004, 11:14 AM