PDA

View Full Version : Problem with K3b in Knoppix

jhn
01-21-2004, 09:57 AM
Hi, my 18gb HD on my Laptop crashed 7 days ago. I found this very useful OS Knoppix and I am most greatful for it. Now i can access my CPU again and I can also access my HD again.

There is one problem left though... I want to save some backups from my HD to my external CD writer. The problem is that when i have started a new project in K3b and selected all the files i want to burn and finally clicks "Burn", everything stops. All the meters stands on 0%, eventually the "Elapsed time" counts but nothing more happends. 4 times out of 5 the computer hangs and i have to reboot again. I havent been able to burn one single CD...

K3b finds my external CD burner, the usergroup is Knoppix and that group have burn rights. I have mounted my HD and fixed so that its writable and not only readable. Is there anyting more i have to do?

Please explain in as simple terms as possible, course' im a newbie at Knoppix. Thanks alot for helping me out =)

Best regards
jhn

aay
01-21-2004, 04:41 PM
JHN,

If you are using knoppix from the cd, where are you storing the your .iso file before it is burned? K3B might just be using ram and you might be running out of it. I would suggest mounting a hard drive, putting your iso file there first, and then burning it.

You can also use the command line to burn your files, but likewise you will need to create the .iso file on one of your mounted hard drives (whether it's on your local machine or on a network drive) and then burn it.

Here's how to do it from the command line.

FIND YOUR CD BURNER

cdrecord --scanbus

The output will look something like this:

Cdrecord-Clone 2.01a19 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2003 Jörg Schilling
Linux sg driver version: 3.1.25
Using libscg version 'schily-0.7'
scsibus0:
0,0,0 0) 'TEAC ' 'DW-28E ' '1.0A' Removable CD-ROM
0,1,0 1) *
0,2,0 2) *
0,3,0 3) *
0,4,0 4) *
0,5,0 5) *
0,6,0 6) *
0,7,0 7) *