PDA

View Full Version : Terminal Service Problem

chunky
01-21-2004, 07:06 PM
I'm attempting to use the latest KNOPPIX release and six computers with PXE support as a server and five clients. I boot the first system off the CD, configure the IP address and tell the terminal services script to include the driver for the Broadcom 440 and verify the appropriate IP range and start the processes.

Starting a client machine and having it boot from the LAN provides the KNOPPIX terminal server client screen and starts the boot process. At this point it fails to mount the cdrom via nfs.

There is a message about DHCP resetting, but following this it shows that eth0 has the appropriate assigned IP address. From the "server" machine, I see the arp entry for the client, but can't ping it. Maybe there isn't enough networking stuff loaded at this point to reply to ICMP packets.

I'm new to PXE booting and am not sure how to diagnose this from here does anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks,
C.

chunky
01-22-2004, 03:01 PM
I was able to get a laptop to boot via PXE without any problems. After thinking about this last night, I recalled that I had a similar problem with PXE booting and Symantec Ghost. PXE would boot the system and ghost would launch but when it came time for ghost to connect back to the multicast server, it would never connect. It worked fine if I booted the systems from the ghost floppy.

It looks like something is screwy with these Dell 2350s and the Broadcom 4400 NICs.

If anyone has any ideas, let me know.

Thanks,
C.

johnb
01-23-2004, 08:01 AM
hi I think that pxe is not your problem. The nodes seem to be booting correctly from your description. It seems like a network error. If you can, try the default network settings.
johnb

chunky
01-23-2004, 02:32 PM