PDA

View Full Version : the question is, within the live-cd, how to rewrite the mbr

djgotee
01-21-2004, 10:16 PM
Please excuss those of us who are still learning the wonderful methods of linux. I am new to linux and am very grateful to this forum and specifically to those who are involved in answering questions like what I am about to ask.
First of all, Im sorry if I ask things that seem simple for most of you, now that that is out of the way, are you ready? Heres what I am trying to understand:
The following is from a former post:
Hello

I have the same

Fatal: open /dev/hda: Permission denied

when I'm trying to run lilo. Let me explain the situation.

- I successfully install knx(3.2) with knx-hdinstall (btw, very effective !)
- failed to reboot, because knx hasn't followed (or asked) for some boot
parameters (in my case, ide0=ata66, ide1=ata66 otherwise boot jam !)
- rebooting on the live-cd, mounting hdaX rw, adding the correct append
line.
- sudo chroot /mnt/hdaX, still ok.
- lilo -v ... and Fatal: open /dev/hda: Permission denied
- tried the proposed install-mbr (don't know why it should change smth, but
as I'm not sure, I try), ok, then again same output of lilo.

So, the question is, within the live-cd, how to rewrite the mbr ?

Thanks
(from: http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=8873&highlight=)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

And what looks like the correct answer:

happily, i found a solution.

Here it is for the sake of completness.

The problem is that chrooting to /mnt/hdaX isolate the pseudo-root, the dev and the proc are not those from the "orignal" working Linux. So obviously lilo won't be able to change the /dev he can't access. So the opposite must be done: bringing on "/" all we need to run the live-cd lilo fct with the lilo.conf config file we want. Note that mine, already located in hdaX, use /vmlinuz and /boot. In the live-cd:

Code:
cd /

rm -f /boot
rm -f /etc/lilo.conf
rm -f /vmlinuz