PDA

View Full Version : need help config US Robotics modem



Evan38888
01-28-2004, 01:23 AM
I have a US Robotics 2977 modem, my computer wont reconize it can you help me set it up.
I'm running Knoppix of fa bootable disk and my defualt operating system is win98

turbinater
01-28-2004, 04:52 AM
The first thing to do is trouble shoot hardware.

Does it work at all in windows? Does the computer see it at all?

At boot time, a screen should come up that has a list of devices, at this point you can hit the pause button and view them. If there's nothing there, you probably have "Plug-and-play OS" disabled in your bios.

If it's a pci modem, you can try:
cat /proc/pci This should give you a list of all pci devices. If your modem shows up there, then the computer see's it, and it's probably a software problem. Otherwise, you most likely have a dead modem

L2Cache
01-28-2004, 06:07 AM
If it's a hardware modem, you should be able to set it up and test it in kppp.
If it's a winmodem, start at: limodems.org

Evan38888
01-28-2004, 05:33 PM
The Modem works fine with win 98 which is my defualt operating system.
When I boot Knoppix I see the list of devices but there is no modem in that list.
how do I turn on the Plug and Play OS?
Thanks

Evan38888
01-28-2004, 05:48 PM
It is a PCI modem

L2Cache
01-28-2004, 06:58 PM
If it's a hardware modem, it is treated like a serial port, and you should be able to select it as something like dev/ttyS2 in kppp. You can test it with kppp with the quirey modem button.

tearinghairout
01-29-2004, 12:10 AM
Have a look at this page http://www.people.iup.edu/bclg/pci-modem.html

Evan38888
01-29-2004, 02:30 AM
When I query modem, it goes for a couple seconds then says modem query timed out.

besonen
01-29-2004, 08:56 AM
type "cat /proc/pci"
Bus 0, device 10, function 0:
Serial controller: US Robotics/3Com 56K FaxModem Model 5610 (rev 1).
IRQ 5.
I/O at 0xa000 [0xa007].

type "dmesg | grep ttyS"
ttyS00 at 0x03f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
ttyS01 at 0x02f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
ttyS04 at port 0xa000 (irq = 5) is a 16550A

type "lspci -v"
00:0a.0 Serial controller: US Robotics/3Com 56K FaxModem Model 5610 (rev 01) (prog-if 02 [16550])
Subsystem: US Robotics/3Com USR 56k Internal FAX Modem (Model 2977)
Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 5
I/O ports at a000 [size=8]
Capabilities: <available only to root>



with the above info (gathered from your computer) use the following tips to make KPPP work [assuming a hard drive install of knoppix]:

setserial -v /dev/ttyS4 uart 16550A port 0xa000 irq 5

add above line to:
/etc/init.d/setserial

where do put this?
ln -s /dev/ttyS4 /dev/modem
these two lines seem to work in .login
su:password
ln -s /dev/ttyS4 /dev/modem

in KPPP choose /dev/modem and voila, KPPP will now dial your ISP




notes below are for ppp via console:

cd /etc

wvdialconf [auto creation of wvdial.conf]

/etc/wvdial.conf

sample wvdial.conf follows:

[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/ttyS4
Baud = 57600
Init = ATZ
Init2 = AT S11=50
Phone = xxx-xxxx
Username = xxxxxxx
Password = xxxxxxx

[Dialer phone2]
Phone = 555-4243

[Dialer shh]
Init3 = ATM0

[Dialer pulse]
Dial Command = ATDP



after your wvdial.conf is set type "wvdial"

besonen
01-29-2004, 03:55 PM
>where do put this?
>ln -s /dev/ttyS4 /dev/modem
>these two lines seem to work in .login
>su:password
>ln -s /dev/ttyS4 /dev/modem

opps, this seems like a mistake in that once a symbolic link is created it remains.

so, all you have to type is:

su:password
ln -s /dev/ttyS4 /dev/modem

no need to put it into your .login

Evan38888
02-03-2004, 04:15 AM
I got the Modem to work, thanks for your help.
Evan.