PDA

View Full Version : I can no longer boot to windows...



tkatchev69
02-01-2004, 02:50 PM
Ok, I have two hard drives, hda1 and hdb1. I loaded Knoppix onto the hda1 because it's small and I wanted to isolate it from my windows install. However, now when I start up, it asks me to choose Linux (which works) or WindowsNT(which just hangs). I was running windows XP Pro just fine, and I didn't touch the other hard drive. Anyone know how to make the windows boot again? Thanks.

Jatronn
02-01-2004, 03:17 PM
Hello tkatchev69,
I'm no Windows expert but I've read that Windows XP has some problems with Lilo/Grup installed in your MBR.

If this is the situation then MS's
fdisk /mbr command should fix that but you would have to copy the resulting file of

dd if=/dev/hda1 of=boot.linux bs=512 count=1
to your Windows partition (via floppy) first
and then if Windows boots again you would have to change your boot.ini:



[boot loader]
timeout=10
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Windows" /fastdetect
C:\boot.linux="LiNUX"


Maybe that's a solution to your problem but I'm not really sure because your question wasn't that clear.... or I just did not understand you :)

Neb00
02-01-2004, 04:56 PM
Hi tkatchev69,

If you do have to seprat Hard Drive's then in you BIOS you should be able to change you boot device.
Example:
if your Primary master is Linux and you Primary slave is XP ( C:Linux, D:XP)
To boot XP change your boot device to D:

I have done sevral Dual-boot systems and this is the safe and easy way.
you may want o check out other post on Dual-boot.
http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4174&highlight=dualboot

hope that helps

(If you do not know what I am talking about let me know and I will fill in the blanks.)