PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix 3.3 HDbased install problem.

Durand Hicks
02-01-2004, 06:15 PM
Hello all,

I'm new to linux, and I like knoppix a lot! I am trying to do a hdbased install of knoppix to my hd so I can use the cd to boot and then have the hd install take over. Or have the xp boot.ini boot to the hd based install. I have a limited amount of space on my hard drive so can't do a full install yet until I get a new (larger) hd. Here's what I have and did. My config as follows on my laptop: 6 partitions- c:=FAT (200mb), d: thru g:=NTFS(4.5gb), j:=FAT32 (1.5gb) *note*:had to resize G: to 3 gb to make the J: partition for the hdbased install of Knoppix. I used qtparted to do this, and was successful. Booted cd and then copied the cd to J: using the instructions from the hdbased howto. Everything went ok, till I had problems with the lilo part. I don't want to install Lilo to be the boot manager on C:, but wouldn't mind if I could somehow get lilo written into boot.ini or use the cd to boot and then turn over to the hd. The kernel panics when I attempted the fromhd=/mnt/hda9 cheatcode when booting from the cd. It attempts to look for it from /mnt/hda1 instead and crashes. Is there a way to do this? If so, how?

simon75
02-01-2004, 06:51 PM
Yes, there are several ways...
Here's (the) one to get the NT-Bootloader boot linux as well...
First, you need to boot up into linux.
(Knoppix works well for this.)
once running, issue these commands (as root):
# mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 -o rw
# dd if=/dev/null of=/mnt/hda1/bootsect.lin count=1 bs=512

when you have already installed lilo into the partition-bootrecord
(/dev/hda9) you can now run:
# dd if=/dev/hda9 of=/mnt/hda1/bootsect.lin count=1 bs=512

now you can configure lilo to write it's bootblock to this file...
# boot=/dev/hda1/bootsect.lin
# root=/dev/hda9

All you need to do is now set up C:\boot.ini to include a line like:
C:\bootsect.lin="Linux"
# echo C:\bootsect.lin=Linux >> /mnt/hda1/boot.ini