PDA

View Full Version : brief wireless config tutorial please

tony_c
02-02-2004, 01:23 AM
I am new to Knoppix and linux. I have a presario 900US and a Linksys PCMCIA v3 wireless card. Everything else runs great! I have no idea how to get the networking working. I am familiar with dos commands, but am new to linux commands so please be specific. I notice an eth0 and eth1 in the list of network cards (from the network config in the knoppix menu in KDE), so I guess knoppix detected the card. I have a linksys WAP and router running dhcp, but I can't access the internet. I don't think I'm actually connecting to the router; however the lights on my card are lighting up. Thanks in advance.

aay
02-02-2004, 02:47 AM
Try running wlcardconfig from the command line. Is your wireless card detected? If wlcardconfig sees the card, you just need to enter in your particular info (essid, password etc) in the dialog boxes.

tearinghairout
02-02-2004, 04:31 AM
The device eth1 is most likely your wireless card.

The linux equivalent of ipconfig is ifconfig. It will show you your IP address etc.

The linux equivalent of 'ipconfig /renew eth1' is 'pump -i eth1'. This will ask your DHCP server for an IP address. You can run this manually just to see if you can get things working.

There is a file called /etc/network/interfaces. This contains a list of your network cards and commands to set them up.

It should contain an entry like 'iface eth1 inet dhcp'. There are probably a myriad of different menu options and programs to set up your networks, but they all just aim to do the same thing, which is modify this file. The command 'man interfaces' can tell you more.

If you have a wireless access point, I don't believe that it is necessary to specify any ESSID's or anything. I think the access point handles all that for you (I could be wrong though).

tony_c
02-02-2004, 10:30 PM
Thank you for your responses. I am trying your suggestions now, and will report back.