PDA

View Full Version : a few newbie idiot questions

shaneblyth
02-02-2004, 02:45 AM
I am totally new to Knoppix... I was trying it out and was thinking of using it as a rescue tool for the dreaded OS crashes..
My questions are..

1)I have serval partitions which auto mount but I cant seem to copy or move or make a folder in any of these hard drive partitions.. whats the trick ? I tried changing permissions in the tabs from read only but makes no difference. as i said these are true hard drive partitions that appears in thee mnt folders.

2)I wanted to burn data to the cdr but when i went to do it i needed to run esetup and tell it an account name... none of the default names where accepted so no burning software is installed.

3)tried to do some adimin things but ask for admin password ... no idea what it is by defaut how do i get around this..

4)i have a network with a windows xp machine on the other end how do i setup knoppix to see it and give permissions for the winxp box to see my Knoppix hard drive..

My system i threw it on is formated fat32 NOT NTFS.

this is just a straight iso burn and throw in the cr rom drive i have done nothing else...

I know thats alot of questions but maybe you can point me to some posts with answers to save on typing..

cheers

Cuddles
02-02-2004, 04:23 AM
I will have a go, on the questions that "I" do know:

I am totally new to Knoppix... I was trying it out and was thinking of using it as a rescue tool for the dreaded OS crashes..
My questions are..

1)I have serval partitions which auto mount but I cant seem to copy or move or make a folder in any of these hard drive partitions.. whats the trick ? I tried changing permissions in the tabs from read only but makes no difference. as i said these are true hard drive partitions that appears in thee mnt folders.