PDA

View Full Version : iteraid boot problem

auma
02-02-2004, 03:21 AM
Hi, i'm new here, and at first i want to say sorry for my bad english, i'm from Austria.
I'm not a total noob in linux, i worked with suse 6.4-7.2 but then i got Wind***XP and i used it without any problems.
Then i got a DBox2, and the first thing i did is to flash Linux instead of the Betaresearch crap.
Now i wanted to make my own Linux images for my dbox, and this requieres a computer with linux installed.
I started Knoppix 3.3 from CD and was really happy because almost everything worked without any problems, except my Audigy (i don't care about that now, maybe later...) and my ITE 8212 onboard raid controller.
I have two Seagate Baracuda IV with 120GB and 8MB Cache in a raid 0 array.
I searched for a driver or something like that, and i found the driver source.
I compiled it under Knoppix with some tricks, but it worked fine.
When i boot my Knoppix cd, and enter expert as boot command i can load my iteraid.o module, and everything works. I can read and write without any problems to the harddisk.
The next step was to install Knoppix on my harddisk, first i tried it with the knx-hdinstall script, but it didn't work.
When i started linux from harddisk i got a kernel panic, unable to mount root fs.
Ok, i thought, can't work because the module is missing, and looked in this forum till i found something i hoped that it would work:
1) cp /usr/local/bin/knx-hdinstall /tmp
2) mkdir /mnt/work
3) mount -t vfat -o loop,ro /cdrom/KNOPPIX/boot.img /mnt/work
4) gzip -cd /mnt/work/miniroot.gz > /tmp/miniroot
5) umount /mnt/work
6) mount -t ext2 -o loop /tmp/miniroot /mnt/work
7) cp /lib/modules/2.4.22-xfs/kernel/drivers/scsi/aacraid/aacraid.o /mnt/work/modules/scsi
(i copied my iteraid.o module there)
8) umount /mnt/work
9) Edit knx-hdinstall and change:

Code:
* * * mount -t vfat -o loop,ro /cdrom/KNOPPIX/boot.img $TL1
* * * gzip -cd $TL1/miniroot.gz > $TR/miniroot
* * * umount $TL1
to:
Code: