PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix 3.3 on HDD and 2.6.1 kernel

bobalex
02-02-2004, 02:18 PM
Anyone managed to succesfully boot a 2.6.1 kernel on a 19-Nov-2003 3.3 Knoppix distro installed on HDD ???

I have tried almost everything but upon booting when the process gets to fsck this fails (tried with both ReiserFs and ext3).

Thank you for any reply.

Bob

toconnor
02-03-2004, 04:38 AM
Yep.

I'm new to Linux myself and am having other problems (http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7831), so I'm not sure I could be a whole lot of help.

I compiled the 2.6.1 kernel. I would hope you're not using a binary distribution, if so, that may be your problem.

I did have a problem booting on my first compile. I originally set things up on ReiserFS, but I seemed to have left support for it out of my kernel. So, I booted into the old kernel and recompiled. Then it worked fine.

I also had some issues with lilo, but it sounds like you're way beyond that.

It might help if you posted the errors that you get from fsck.

FYI - I'm on an AMD/nForce2 system, if that matters to you.

kiekerjan
02-03-2004, 06:22 PM
You might try to update some of the packages. This article (http://kerneltrap.org/node/view/799) describes how to update to the 2.6 kernel. Step 3 describes a number of utilities you need to upgrade.
I used the article to upgrade and everything is working fine.

Worm
02-03-2004, 10:00 PM
Did you use an initrd in lilo.conf or since you compiled support for ReiserFSinto the kernel, did you avoid that problem.?

I am trying to compile 2.4.24 and just cannot get it to work either way. Using an initrd causes a kernel bug during boot and trying it without an initrd causes an unuseable system that spews dozens of error message just as 'INIT knoppix 2.78....' appears in the boot sequence. My tale of woe is at
http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7814