PDA

View Full Version : Cannot detect sda1

altalingua
02-09-2004, 08:31 AM
Hi,

I am new to linux. I just installed Knoppix on to my laptop, and I'm having a problem: when I plug in an external flash hard drive, it is not detected under Hard Disk Partition (sda1).

When I run Knoppix via the boot-cd, everything works fine.

Any ideas on what is going wrong?

Thanks! :)

gowator
02-10-2004, 12:11 PM
By not detected do you mean the device file /dev/sda1 is not created or you don't have an icon for it.

From a cli (console or whatever)
ls -l /dev/sda*
what does it say ????

fingers99
02-10-2004, 03:31 PM
take a look in /etc/fstab.

Chances are that there will be a hash in front of the line for sda1.

as root

remove the #

run

mount -a

and all should be fine.

mcaycedo
02-10-2004, 08:19 PM
I have the same problem. I have used this USB drives:

- USB 1.0 Flash disk 64 Mb
- USB 2.0 Flash disk 128 mb
- USB 1.0 IDE enclosure
- USB 2.0 IDE enclosure

The USB 1.0 Flash disk 64 Mb and USB 2.0 IDE enclosure works fine with the LiveCD, but don't get recognized in the HD Installed Version. The oher two drives I wasn't unable to get working in any circumstance. I try to mount using the command line to no result

Markus
02-10-2004, 08:39 PM
Add this line to /etc/fstab for usb support:
none /proc/bus/usb usbdevfs defaults 0 0

For my thumbdrive I have in fstab:
/dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=markus,gid=markus 0 0
You can change vfat to auto, and markus to your login, or just remove uid and gid if you don't want to get ownership for new files:
/dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1 auto noauto,users,exec,umask=000 0 0

And as root do:
mkdir /mnt/sda1

For more than one device do: dmesg |grep sda
or: cat /var/log/syslog |grep sda
and add the devices to fstab and mountpoins to /mnt/

joe_bfstplk
02-13-2004, 05:19 AM
You can change vfat to auto, and markus to your login, or just remove uid and gid if you don't want to get ownership for new files: