PDA

View Full Version : wirelees card "problem" after install



sK8z
02-12-2004, 02:25 AM
ok, this may soudn odd but if anyone can help or explain why this happened that would rock
when i boot off the knoppix or knoppix-std cd my NICs are set up as:
orinoco pcmcia wireless = eth0
internal nic = eth1

once i did the hdd install i get :
internal nic = eth0
orinoco = eth1

before i spent time fooling with this i threw fedora on the laptop over knoppix, and the NIC's still set up the same as the hdd install. Any ideas why the knoppix cd's set the cards up one way, and the hdd installs another?

chopperman
03-31-2005, 03:37 AM
ok, this may soudn odd but if anyone can help or explain why this happened that would rock
when i boot off the knoppix or knoppix-std cd my NICs are set up as:
orinoco pcmcia wireless = eth0
internal nic = eth1

once i did the hdd install i get :
internal nic = eth0
orinoco = eth1

before i spent time fooling with this i threw fedora on the laptop over knoppix, and the NIC's still set up the same as the hdd install. Any ideas why the knoppix cd's set the cards up one way, and the hdd installs another?


bump. I have the same problem

ETH1 starts the card flasing. Wifi0 cannot be configured. no web access

chopperman
04-01-2005, 10:07 PM
ok, this may soudn odd but if anyone can help or explain why this happened that would rock
when i boot off the knoppix or knoppix-std cd my NICs are set up as:
orinoco pcmcia wireless = eth0
internal nic = eth1

once i did the hdd install i get :
internal nic = eth0
orinoco = eth1

before i spent time fooling with this i threw fedora on the laptop over knoppix, and the NIC's still set up the same as the hdd install. Any ideas why the knoppix cd's set the cards up one way, and the hdd installs another?


bump. I have the same problem

ETH1 starts the card flasing. Wifi0 cannot be configured. no web access


I figured it out..uh...thanks.