PDA

View Full Version : RAM Problem on Compaq Proliant 5000 Server



maguu
02-16-2003, 05:36 PM
Hello,

i have Compaq Proliant 5000//2500//1500 Server they all have at least 16MB of Ram on the motherboard up to 32MB
the rest of the RAM is on two RAM Boards up to 4GB (old Kingston EDO Ram..)I tried to boot Knoppix over Floppy
it fails:
Total memory found: 13484kB
then a cp error
starting init process is the last message


the cd works fine on my notebook...

any idea?

with kind regards
marko

rewebster
08-22-2003, 02:05 AM
I just joined the forum to ask a Proliant 5000 question. I think I can get you past the memory problem (if you haven't already found the answer).

Linux will not get the correct memory from the Proliant. So you have to pass the correct memory at boot. On the 2.4.x kernel, it's a little more complicated than just mem=128M (or whatever RAM you have).

Try this: mem=exactmap mem=12M@0 mem=116M@12M

In the line above, the 116M assumes that you have 128M installed (128-12). If you have 256M installed then

Try this: mem=exactmap mem=12M@0 mem=244M@12M

Hopefully, this will get you past the memory problem. Unfortunately, I have run into another problem after that.

syn_flood
10-15-2003, 09:03 AM
I have a proliant 5000 with 512 RAM.

I tried the solution given but in this case, I got a Kernel Panic -- Unable to find root filesystem ...--
In other cases, I can boot correctly on the SCSI discs, but only 16 M (including the ones reserved for kernel use) are detected. :cry:

I am trying to retry this with a 2.6.0-test7 kernel but I dont think it would change anything at all.

Do someone have an idea ?

marcus34
11-10-2003, 03:53 PM
i have a 2500 with 256MB RAM

machine boots using the following append line for my 2.4.18smp and 2.4.22smp kernels.

append=" linux mem=exactmap mem=636K@0 mem=255M@1M"

ref: http://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=36940

which eventually indicates that you need to
use dmesg memory ranges to calculate correct numbers (for each system).

cross-fingers ;)