PDA

View Full Version : compilation problems

knoppy
02-16-2004, 03:50 PM
I have been working with knoppix 11-19-03 (on hd) for a few months and I am very happy with it! I was able to compile kshowmail. However, when I try to compile an additional program I get the following message:

grep: /usr/lib/libXft.la: No such file or directory
/bin/sed: can't read /usr/lib/libXft.la: No such file or directory
libtool: link: `/usr/lib/libXft.la' is not a valid libtool archive
make[3]: *** [libk3bdevice.la] Fehler 1

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

PS: I have installed the ATI-Radion driver. I originally thought that that was the problem, but I am no longer convinced, as this message comes up after a few compilation attempts anyway...

Stephen
02-16-2004, 08:14 PM
I have been working with knoppix 11-19-03 (on hd) for a few months and I am very happy with it! I was able to compile kshowmail. However, when I try to compile an additional program I get the following message:

grep: /usr/lib/libXft.la: No such file or directory
/bin/sed: can't read /usr/lib/libXft.la: No such file or directory
libtool: link: `/usr/lib/libXft.la' is not a valid libtool archive
make[3]: *** [libk3bdevice.la] Fehler 1

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

PS: I have installed the ATI-Radion driver. I originally thought that that was the problem, but I am no longer convinced, as this message comes up after a few compilation attempts anyway...

Looks like you do not have the libxft-dev package installed you need to install it.

HappyTux:/home/stephen# dpkg -S libXft.la
dpkg: *libXft.la* not found.
HappyTux:/home/stephen# apt-file search libXft.la
libxft-dev: usr/lib/libXft.la
libxft-dev: usr/lib/libXft.la

knoppy
02-17-2004, 08:55 AM
Thanks, Stephen

Did as you told me. However, I'm getting a new error message:

/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lXinerama_pic
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [kshowmail] Fehler 1

How do I go on from here...?

Stephen
02-17-2004, 09:58 AM
Thanks, Stephen