PDA

View Full Version : From Knoppix to a Debian developer's machine

dewd
02-17-2004, 11:00 PM
Hi,

I need some headers and source code but I don't want to mess with my system too much to render it unusable as I am really enjoying it.

Yesterday I tried to compile the latest version of Wine and it asked for the xfree headers.
I'll need gtk+ headers as well for the Ruby-Gnome2 bindings.

I am running Knoppix 3.4 for the c't magazine. I installed it to the hard disk as debian. Now I will need to develop a little bit using this machine, so I am asking some kind souls where can I get some of the stuff that I need.

For example, where can I apt-get the source and headers for the xfree86 4.3 installed by Knoppix ? Because on the standard debian packages I was only able to find the packages for xfree86 4.2.1.

As you can guess I am totally new to debian, and I could learn everything the hard way but right now I am a little tired of reboots :)

TIA

Stephen
02-18-2004, 12:55 AM
Hi,

I need some headers and source code but I don't want to mess with my system too much to render it unusable as I am really enjoying it.

Yesterday I tried to compile the latest version of Wine and it asked for the xfree headers.
I'll need gtk+ headers as well for the Ruby-Gnome2 bindings.

I am running Knoppix 3.4 for the c't magazine. I installed it to the hard disk as debian. Now I will need to develop a little bit using this machine, so I am asking some kind souls where can I get some of the stuff that I need.

For example, where can I apt-get the source and headers for the xfree86 4.3 installed by Knoppix ? Because on the standard debian packages I was only able to find the packages for xfree86 4.2.1.

As you can guess I am totally new to debian, and I could learn everything the hard way but right now I am a little tired of reboots :)

TIA