PDA

View Full Version : Can't see windows "c" Drive after booting up with

dazhick
02-22-2004, 11:33 AM
I have loaded/booted up my computer using knoppix successfully (I think). However I can't find my windows "c" drive to allow me to copy files from it to another computer/cd.
I'm using knoppix because I can't boot into my hard drive using the pre installed windows XP(bad system crash). I can see an hda1 and a hda5 on my knoppix desktop, but these do not relate to the "c" drive which I want to gain access to, thus allowing me to gain access to the files on my hard drive.
It would be great if anyone could give me assistance, I'm a total newbie. But I'm totally into this new operating system.
Thanks
Daz

Crusader
02-22-2004, 04:10 PM
Unfortunately, you're kinda out of luck.
Try opening a console and typing
mount /dev/hda2
or
mount /dev/hda3
etc. That might work, though if Knoppix didn't detect them it might not be able to read them. Linux doesn't have good support for the Windows XP file system (NTFS) and can only read from drives. I don't know how well it handles NTFS, period.

Stephen
02-22-2004, 08:36 PM
I have loaded/booted up my computer using knoppix successfully (I think). However I can't find my windows "c" drive to allow me to copy files from it to another computer/cd.
I'm using knoppix because I can't boot into my hard drive using the pre installed windows XP(bad system crash). I can see an hda1 and a hda5 on my knoppix desktop, but these do not relate to the "c" drive which I want to gain access to, thus allowing me to gain access to the files on my hard drive.
It would be great if anyone could give me assistance, I'm a total newbie. But I'm totally into this new operating system.
Thanks
Daz