PDA

View Full Version : Noisy Fan help.

RoamZero
02-27-2004, 09:06 PM
I have a VAIO 1ghz desktop. Normally when it boots up, the fan revs up during boot, and once Windows starts loading, it calms down to a slower speed. When I try to boot Knoppix, the fan revs up and STAYS like that (really fast and really loud). I dont want to risk damaging the fan while using Knoppix (that, and it is annoying working with a super loud fan). Any help?

Hunkah
02-28-2004, 01:36 AM
For goodness sakes DON'T use WD-40! I heard of a person that stuck the nozzle in a hole and blasted the inside of his PC until it made a loud snap and started to smoke! The guy that fixed it said it was dripping when he opened the case!

Hunkah
02-28-2004, 01:37 AM
Actually he just opened the case and didn't bother fixing it.

RoamZero
02-28-2004, 01:45 AM
Well, Im a Linux noob so I was basically wondering if I can go into the command promt and input something to rev down the fan, make it run at a normal level? Are there any tools that come with knoppix that do that?

Cuddles
02-28-2004, 03:55 AM
First of all, Hunkah, I heard of someone using WD-40 on a Swamp Cooler water pump (aka Evaporative Cooler) - the pump runs on 120 volt, and when they sprayed the pump motor with the lubricant, it burst into flames - it states right on the can - FLAMABLE - so, unless a fan motor is "cooled down" - don't attempt a flamable lubricant on one...

Second of all, RoamZero, are you running Knoppix from the CD, or have you installed it on the hard drive (i.e. you don't need to load the CD to boot Knoppix) ???

Are you sure the fan you are hearing is coming from the CPU? Or the Power Supply? Or it might be coming from the CDROM motor...

Those newer CDROM's can "spin-up" to some serious revolutions per minute, and what you might be hearing is the cdrom motor...