PDA

View Full Version : CD burning in knoppix

superart
02-19-2003, 04:02 PM
I am a tech support slave at school, and one of the drafting machines crashed. I have to reinstall the OS, but before that, i have to back up all the people's work. Its about 90 MB, and i tried to do it to floppies, but A) i dont have enough floppies, and B)I dont feel like saving data to like 80 floppies.I booted into knoppix fine from the CD, but now i need to burn the directory with all the data from the hard drive to the CDRW. If anyone can help with burning in knoppix, i would really appreceate it, hopefully before theses people start getting violent

aay
02-19-2003, 07:25 PM
Have you tried using K3B? If you have the 1-20 release of Knoppix (or maybe even the one before that) K3B should be on your CD. If you have only one directory to back up, it should be as easy as right clicking on the directory and chosing "Create Data CD with K3B" If you have more than one directory, just copy the data you need into one folder. If you have problems, you probably just need to make sure that your burner was detected properly by K3B.Try doing this to burn your cdrw. If you have problems, report back exactly what went wrong and I'm sure people will be glad to lend some help.

mmaki
02-19-2003, 08:55 PM
I'm using the 12-10-10 release and cdbakeoven (KDE Menu...Utilities...cdbakeoven) appears to work well. It is quite simple to use and detected by CD-RW. Of course as a last resort you can physically take the drive out and stick it in another compatable box as a slave drive and copy the files to a network or another drive.

Good Luck!

Nick
02-19-2003, 09:09 PM
I presume this is a networked box, so another option, which I have already experimented for exactly this situation, is to use FTP.

Get an FTP server up on another network machine, then simply config Knoppix on the network FTP everything and anything to it.

Nick

superart
02-20-2003, 12:45 AM