PDA

View Full Version : lost interrupt - no loading

nishtya
03-05-2004, 02:27 AM
Newbie here, pardon. HD install of 2-16-04 knoppix debian-style. Using lilo to dual boot with w98 on a separate harddrive. About every 3rd or so boot or restart I have a problem loading where the screen just scrolls, "lost interrupt" although this comes after the recognition of the harddrives. It seems it loses it after "configuring dependancies" and "setting speed 0x58" it goes too fast to really catch it. It requires a poweroff and restart to finally get in. a) is there a way to make it log the boot and loading so I can examine it or b) to slow it down it down to read it just where it fouls up? The drive linux is on is an old scavenged 6 gig maxtor of at least 5 years, not exactly prime stuff but when it ran windows I have to admit there was never any problem with it. Any diagnostic utilities on the linux side? I don't mind putting in a newer drive but would like to be fairly confident that is what the problem is.

rickenbacherus
03-05-2004, 02:44 AM
All logs reside in /var/log/

dmesg|less

pulsar
03-08-2004, 01:08 AM
What's your motherboard manufacturer (chipset producer)?

Stephen
03-08-2004, 01:37 AM