PDA

View Full Version : LISa daemon autoconfigure script



mkklavz
03-07-2004, 04:54 PM
Okay!
I've written a script to wake up lisa. It must be run as root, or else lisa won't start correctly. I'd be glad if you could test it a little. For it to work, it needs correctly set up network card.

here's the link: http://users.volja.net/zejnovi/lissetup.sh

Just do this in console:
wget http://users.volja.net/zejnovi/lissetup.sh
chmod +x lissetup.sh
./lissetup.sh

mkklavz
03-12-2004, 02:48 AM
Okay, the script has been reviewed and improved so now it actually does work.
8)

It autodetects private network ranges 10.x.x.x, 192.168.x.x and 172.16.x.x-172.32.x.x

Do try it, lisa is actually quite good stuff.

sn0wflake
03-25-2004, 11:50 AM
I tried your script and it apparently worked since Lisa reports it running on port 7741. But when I try to browse LAN's KDE report that Lisa isn't running. What a bitch that Lisa is! What the purpose for Lisa anyway?

c123
03-25-2004, 03:07 PM
what is lisa? a quick google did not turn up anything (on the first page at least)...

mkklavz
03-28-2004, 11:02 PM
I tried your script and it apparently worked since Lisa reports it running on port 7741. But when I try to browse LAN's KDE report that Lisa isn't running. What a bitch that Lisa is! What the purpose for Lisa anyway?

Lisa is a browser for lan, it checks for fish(ssh), ftp, smb, http access on remote computers and shows them by IP. It's not in google, though.

How did you browse? it's having some problems if you type lan:// directly in konqueror.. tried in Network browsing? It should work.

sn0wflake
03-30-2004, 10:39 AM
I browsed the LAN by lan:// :oops: I have to type smb:// and now it works :)

mkklavz
04-06-2004, 08:48 PM
I browsed the LAN by lan:// :oops: I have to type smb:// and now it works :)

Did you look under services sidebar in konqueror and tried network browsing

knopp
05-06-2004, 10:17 PM
I'm new to Linux with Knoppix 3.4, but this seems brilliant. I clicked on the "Services" button at the bottom of the left-hand toolbar in Konqueror, then "LAN Browser", and I'm browsing through the shared folders on my LAN-connected Windows XP Home machine.

Thanks very much for posting this. If there's another easy way to browse Windows SMB shared folders from Knoppix, I don't know what it is. (Anyone who does, feel free to post it).

This is a nice short script. Any chance of getting Klaus Knopper to include it on the cd, with a menu item to start it as root?

In the meantime, how about a live-install via Fabian Franz's "Knoppix-Live Installer"? Inclusion on the cd would be ideal, since an internet connection isn't always available, but a live-install setup would be very nice too.

Thanks again,
David.

knopp
05-08-2004, 11:20 PM
wget http://users.volja.net/zejnovi/lissetup.sh && chmod +x lissetup.sh && sudo ./lissetup.sh


This one-liner will download and run the script as root a bit more smoothly than the three-liner at the top of this thread.

Just copy the whole line and paste it into a shell at the command prompt (use SHIFT-Insert key to paste in Konsole). There's no need to switch to root manually. I'd still like to see lissetup as a menu item on the cd, though, under "KNOPPIX" -> "Network/Internet" or "Utilities."

Once you have the script downloaded to your persistent home dir, you can run it again (after rebooting, for example) with

sudo ./lissetup.sh

Thanks again for a very helpful script.

Fabianx
05-10-2004, 01:25 AM
Okay!
I've written a script to wake up lisa. It must be run as root, or else lisa won't start correctly. I'd be glad if you could test it a little. For it to work, it needs correctly set up network card.

here's the link: http://users.volja.net/zejnovi/lissetup.sh

Just do this in console:
wget http://users.volja.net/zejnovi/lissetup.sh
chmod +x lissetup.sh
./lissetup.sh

Ok, as you've written a fairly useful script, that would good fit to
Knoppix-Menu/Utilities, you will now have to learn how to make a debian package.

In earlier times I have made packages for several scripts, but as my time gets less and less and we want more developers and not less ;-).

For inclusion Klaus will need such a package.

Ok,

take a look at:

http://debian.tu-bs.de/knoppix/CeBit/packages/pdf-printerconfig_0.1.orig.tar.gz
http://debian.tu-bs.de/knoppix/CeBit/packages/pdf-printerconfig_0.1-1.diff.gz
http://debian.tu-bs.de/knoppix/CeBit/packages/pdf-printerconfig_0.1-1.dsc

Use:



dpkg-source -x *.dsc
[/code

to create the directory with the applied patch, look at the patch to see what needs to be done to make a debian package.

How to make a debian package in shortest form:

- Create sourcedir with version number
- Create makefile with default: empty-section and install:-section

[code]
dh_make
# edit / remove files in debian/ subdirectory
debuild


Look at the diff and see if its appropriate.

See also http://www.debian.org/devel/

cu

Fabian

mkklavz
05-23-2004, 02:33 PM
the script itself should actually not be in the menu, it should rather be hidden and automatically run when network config changes.

Suicide-King
05-31-2004, 12:42 AM
I have tried using both auto scripts for Lisa Deamon, i have tried smb and lan, and i have succesfully pinged every computer on my network. But everytime I try to connect to one of them i get this

Internal Error
Please send a full bug report at http://bugs.kde.org
Unknown error condition in stat: Network is unreachable

I go back to knosole to check the status of Lisa and get this
NetManager::prepare:bind (TCP) failed, errno: 98

Any help would be great

ntsc
10-17-2004, 09:10 PM
Running Knoppix 3.4 installed to hard drive - Internet Browsing works fine, from console typing in lisa returns the same error message as the previous post

NetManager::prepare:bind (TCP) failed, errno: 98

Tried (I Think !!!!) to run the scripts as mentioned earlier and it just times out

Any help would be most welcome !

ntsc
10-17-2004, 10:00 PM
Just to update:

Full power down of system - rebooted into KDE typed in lisa in console reported that it was working on some or other port (didn't make a note - too surprised that it was actually working !)

Tried Lineighbourhood - which did appear this time, only thing listed was "Knoppix", tried to browse the entire network (left username password as default) - no other PC's showing up (network is OK have two windows machines running which have no problem seeing shares on either)

Went back to console typed in lisa and got......

NetManager::prepare:bind (TCP) failed, errno: 98

mikekgr
10-18-2004, 05:05 PM
Dear friend,
I had spend most of my time to browse window$ based network without success. If you have hd installation simply as root (in console) :

apt-get install komba2

Just when you adjust this samba client don't forget to specify your address range of your network e.x. 192.168.0.1 - 254

Best Regards,
Mike Kranidis

rvijay
10-01-2006, 03:04 PM
I just tried this today. This script works great. Wish it was included in Knoppix by default with an option to enable/disable it at start :)

Vijay