PDA

View Full Version : How do I make boot diskette

Escoville
03-09-2004, 01:34 AM
Can some kind soul take my hand and guide me through this step by step? It doesn't look hard but I am new at this and it's painfully obvious I am doing something wrong because I have suffered humiliating defeat countless times.

"In order to start the CD, first adjust the boot list in the BIOS Setup of your computer to boot from CD (before the hard drive). Put the CD in and restart the computer. If your computer does not support this option, you must use a boot diskette, which you can create with the help of the boot image /KNOPPIX/boot.img available on the CD. Use the mkfloppy.bat script for the regular boot image (German version). Use the command rawrite2 -f boot-en.img -d A (in the KNOPPIX directory) to create an English boot disk."

rickenbacherus
03-09-2004, 01:47 AM
If you just get Smart Boot Manager you can boot any cd from a machine that otherwise cannot boot from cd.

http://btmgr.sourceforge.net/

Escoville
03-21-2004, 09:20 PM
I went to Source Forge as instructed and made 2 floppies, one, “Smart BootManager 3.7 release 1” and another, “sbminst.exe.” I am still at square one though. I’ve not had much time to devote to solving my problem until today.
The computer I am attempting to get to accept Knoppix is an old DELL Dimension P75t,
BIOS Version A00
Pentium –75
External Cache: 256 KB
Video Memory: 8192 KB
RAM: 8.0 (I now know that is unacceptably low and will scout up more memory)
Windows 95

I have set the boot sequence: Diskette First

All I get is—
“Invalid System Disk
Replace the Disk and Then Press Any Key”
I did read in another thread that old Dells sometimes require switching on and THEN plugging the tower in. That didn’t help.

What else can I try?

OErjan
03-21-2004, 09:32 PM
did you put the exefile in a bootable dos floppy?
if not try to format it with thr switch /s as in
format a: /s
THEN copy the smbinst.exe and sbminst onto that diskette.