PDA

View Full Version : Qtparted



ClubMed
03-09-2004, 09:49 PM
I have just booted Knoppix from the CD, and I would like to use QTparted to partition the HDD.

I tried it and I keep getting the following error:

There was a problem with mkfs.ext3

It can only parition 2.13GB out of 40GB for some reason.

Could someone tell me how to make paritions in QTparted?

knulle
03-09-2004, 10:45 PM
Hi !

got the same error. After trying to format the first fs (/dev/hdb2) whole harddisk got locked. I rebooted knoppix from CD and formatted the next step by step (/dev/hdb3 and /deb/hdb4).

Workaround:
set partitions by qparted or other partitioning-program (PQMagic) without fotmatting, reboot knoppix CD, start root shell and format the partitions using "sudo mkswap /dev/hdb1" and the filesystems by "sudo mkfs.ext3 /dev/hdb2" etc (replace hdb1 / hdb2 by your harddrive requirements !)
Works for me.

-----
Update:

Hmmm - seems, that knoppix-inst.sh doesn't like ext3, the partitioning with ext2 works well with qtparted. Will try some more and give feedback in a while.

knulle
03-10-2004, 01:05 PM
ok, now I got it ;-)

When I first used qtparted (see above) and checked all created linux-partitions with cfdisk they were marked as FAT16-type. (???)

So I used cfdisk instead of qtparted and it worked fine.
(see http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8363)

I installed knoppix on the second harddrive divided into 4 partitions:
start knoppix from cd
start root shell:
cfdisk /dev/hdb
/dev/hdb1 = swap = type 82
/dev/hdb2 = boot1 = type 83
/dev/hdb3 = anotherboot = type 83
/dev/hdb4 = data = type83

marked /dev/hdb2 as bootable
write all to disk
leave cfdisk and reboot from knoppix-cd
start root shel again
formatted all partitions:
mkswap /dev/hdb1
mkfs.ext3 /dev/hdb2
mkfs.ext3 /dev/hdb3
mkfs.ext3 /dev/hdb4

you can check the result by running cfdisk again (but no writing this time !) - must be all linux ext3 partitions

execute knoppix-install.sh (or knoppix-int.sh für ct-3.4-edition)

selected /dev/hdb2 for destination of installation
wrote lilo into mbr.

so now I can use the old win2k (as long as I need it - hopefully not for very much longer) and knoppix from hd

Thanks to all the other forum posts. Helped a lot ! :wink: