PDA

View Full Version : ok...walk me through this...cdrom and cdrom1

Silver_Seagull
03-10-2004, 09:57 PM
Hello, my name is Silver_Seagull and I am a Linux noob.

OK, got Knoppix on its own partition (knx-hdinstall - ver 3.3 old) with a dual-boot LILO with Win XP home.

Got my GeForce 4 Ti4400 all drivered-up (nvidia drivers installed and working :D )

Can't get Knoppix (Debian technically I suppose) to recognize my optical drives. The drives are a DVD-ROM as master on the second IDE controller and a slave Yamaha CDR-F1 on the same cable. All the jumpers are in right etc...they work fine in Win-blows....I mean, Windows. ;) :p

Now here's the curve-ball...I've dropped a DVD into the drive and have Ogle and Xine installed with libdvdcss 1.2.8....the DVD runs like shite (16x player..go figure) but that's for another thread. The thing is tho, it RUNS it. I can also start up K3B and have it recognize both drives and burn stuff to the Yamaha @ its top speed of 44x.

But I CANNOT, for the life of me, get it to mount the drives separately. You know, like as icons on the desktop...or even access them outside of the above mentioned programs.....

help would be much appreciated. :)

Cheers

Loper
03-10-2004, 11:24 PM
Can't get Knoppix (Debian technically I suppose) to recognize my optical drives. The drives are a DVD-ROM as master on the second IDE controller and a slave Yamaha CDR-F1 on the same cable. All the jumpers are in right etc...they work fine in Win-blows....I mean, Windows. ;) :p

Now here's the curve-ball...I've dropped a DVD into the drive and have Ogle and Xine installed with libdvdcss 1.2.8....the DVD runs like shite (16x player..go figure) but that's for another thread. The thing is tho, it RUNS it. I can also start up K3B and have it recognize both drives and burn stuff to the Yamaha @ its top speed of 44x.