PDA

View Full Version : problems with apt-get upgrade after installing knoppix to HD

voldemort_b
03-11-2004, 01:44 PM
Hello,

I'm a complete newbie to Linux, I only have experience with DOS/windows. Yesterday I reformatted my HDD and made a dual-boot system for winXP home and knoppix (debian). I followed the instructions on knoppix.net on how to do a HD installation (using knoppix-installer). That went smoothly, and LILO worked nicely allowing me to boot into either windows or linux.

Then, on the advice of a friend who knows about using Debian, I opened a shell and did "apt-get update".

That worked pretty well, except I got this error:

-----
Failed to fetch http://non-us.debian.org/~kitame/mozilla/./Packages.gz 404 Not Found
Failed to fetch http://non-us.debian.org/~kitame/mozilla/./Sources.gz 404 Not Found
Reading Package Lists... Done
E: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
-----

After that, on the advice of my friend, I did "apt-get dist-upgrade -u". He helped me through most of the dialog screens and stuff. But at the end of that, I was left with this error:

-----
You might want to run `apt-get -f install' to correct these.
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
libwine: Depends: libxv1 but it is not installed
E: Unmet dependencies. Try using -f.
-----

At this point, my friend was unavailable to help me further. The only thing he said before he left was that I should finish the upgrade before restarting my computer. So I've left my computer running ever since. But I don't know how to fix this.

When I do "apt-get -f install" as they suggest, I get:

-----
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/libxv1_4.3.0-5_i386.deb (--unpack):
trying to overwrite `/usr/X11R6/lib/libXv.so.1.0', which is also in package xlibs
dpkg-deb: subprocess paste killed by signal (Broken pipe)
Errors were encountered while processing:
/var/cache/apt/archives/libxv1_4.3.0-5_i386.deb