PDA

View Full Version : belkin network card and apollo onboard sound...

Sukrillux
03-12-2004, 01:12 AM
I had originally installed knoppix on a 500mhz vbox computer with onboard LAN/Video (sis)/Sound, but I recently changed the harddrive over to a Soyo K7VTA-Pro with onboard sound (VIA). I'm trying to install a Belkin Network Card along with the onboard sound. I was also having trouble with a ATI 7500, but managed to fix that. I am extremely new to knoppix and linux altogether. I do, however, have a belkin driver disk that has three files on it which are: Linux.txt , TRANS , RTL8139.C . I read the text file and I'm still baffled over how to compile a driver or module. I know that the module would be named rtl8139.o. I just don't know how to get it. I've tried to use the "gcc........." in the konsole, but it just brings up about a hundred warnings and errors. I'm lost and confused. Can someone please help me with "compiling"?

Thanks

Stephen
03-12-2004, 01:45 AM
I had originally installed knoppix on a 500mhz vbox computer with onboard LAN/Video (sis)/Sound, but I recently changed the harddrive over to a Soyo K7VTA-Pro with onboard sound (VIA). I'm trying to install a Belkin Network Card along with the onboard sound. I was also having trouble with a ATI 7500, but managed to fix that. I am extremely new to knoppix and linux altogether. I do, however, have a belkin driver disk that has three files on it which are: Linux.txt , TRANS , RTL8139.C . I read the text file and I'm still baffled over how to compile a driver or module. I know that the module would be named rtl8139.o. I just don't know how to get it. I've tried to use the "gcc........." in the konsole, but it just brings up about a hundred warnings and errors. I'm lost and confused. Can someone please help me with "compiling"?

Thanks