PDA

View Full Version : Gateway Solo 2500 knoppix internet question

mwdowns
03-13-2004, 11:04 AM
This is my first post on this forum...so, really, I have absolutely no idea where to begin! :)

Therefore, I'll just start at what I think is the begining:

I am a complete Linux newbie, as in I downloaded the Knoppix image today and just booted my laptop about an hour ago. A complete newbie.

I'm booting from disk on a Gateway Solo 2500, Celeron 400mhz, 288MB RAM, Linksys EtherFast 10/100 PC card, originally running Windows98se.

The bootup process seemed to go without a hitch. The interface is up, and I can explore around the OS. It's really nice...games, tools, browsers...looks like I'll be wasting a bit of time with it! :)

However, how do I connect to the internet? I tried the "ADSL/PPPOE configuration" tool. It asked for my user name and password for my internet service provider, but it didn't connect (i.e. when I tried to use the browser, any page i typed brought up the "page not found" error). So, how do I connect? Please remember I'm a newbie, so I don't yet understand shells and commands and such. But, I'm not stupid (or at least I'm not completely stupid :)), so I can learn this!

Thanks for your help, folks!

mwdowns
03-14-2004, 04:23 AM
Is there any more information that you need for the above question? Do you think it's maybe a compatibility problem with the card?

I'd really like to get this up and running! :)

windos_no_thanks
03-14-2004, 11:16 AM
Is there any more information that you need for the above question? Do you think it's maybe a compatibility problem with the card?

I'd really like to get this up and running! :)

How about telling us about your ISP and what kind of connection you have ?

mwdowns
03-14-2004, 11:58 AM
My ISP is NTT/DION internet in Japan. I'm running an ADSL connection through my PC card (Linksys Etherfast 10/100) to a switching hub.

Is that enough info?

Thanks for the reply! :)

windos_no_thanks
03-14-2004, 08:10 PM