PDA

View Full Version : Cannot see FAT32 nor NTFS partitions (WinXp related?)

pc_dev
02-21-2003, 04:04 AM
Please excuse my ignorance if this is a stupid question as i'm a linux newbie. I can successfully boot up and I'm using Konqueror to write this as I type. However I can't seem to mount my FAT32 partition (I also have an NTFS partition but that doesn't matter) on my laptop. There are 12 hda's listed and each one when I try to mount gives me /dev/hda_: Input/output error, mount:I could not determine filesystem type, and none was selected (where "_" is 1 thru 12). I thought Knoppix can automatically detect the partitions. Am I missing a step or does linux not like my partiticular config :( System configuration is Windows XP Pro with a c:NTFS and d:FAT32 partition. I was hopefully at minimum that I can use the Fat32 partition. Please advise. Thanks in advance!

PS upon startup and when I try to mount any of the 12 hda's, there's a physical noise attributed to linux trying to determine the file system I suppose (hard drive almost grinding, hope that's normal)

stevensmd
02-21-2003, 08:15 PM
Forgive me also for being a newbie...I am having the exact same problem..can someone help out there?

pc_dev
02-21-2003, 10:33 PM
after further investigation, i found out that vfat is missing on my copy of knoppix... is this normal?

modprobe vfat indicates that it's not loaded

then I looked in the lib/module/linux-2...../fs and cannot see vfat listed,
the other fs's seem to be there i.s. nfs, udp etc etc

how come?? any linux expert out there can can shed some light? I then obtained a vfat.o from somewhere and i can't put it in the fs direct nor load it with modprobe for some reason... please help, tnx

Stephen
02-23-2003, 09:02 AM
You could try cat /proc/filesys* this is what it shows on my system.
[03:32 AM Sun Feb 23: knoppix @ ~]$ cat /proc/filesys*
nodev rootfs
nodev bdev
nodev proc
nodev sockfs
nodev tmpfs
nodev shm
nodev pipefs
ext2
nodev ramfs
msdos
vfat
iso9660