PDA

View Full Version : How to save Knoppix on 780meg partition and boot from HD

nvgringo
03-15-2004, 05:48 AM
1.) I am fairly new to Linux
2.)This worked on my computer don't know about yours
3.)This is not my work. Just a combination of other peoples guides that worked for me
3.) If there is someone out there who can improve on this method please by all means do so.

Part1 Partition your hard drive
I am assuming that you are using an old machine with a small hard drive, and Knoppix 3.4 or(3.3) will be the only OS. If you have the space you should use knoppix-installer.
1.)Boot the knoppix cd. If you are reading this and are installing 3.4 when the penguin picture comes up you will need to type Knoppix lang=us The = on the German keyboard is the close parenthesis over the 0. If you are using 3.3 you likely already have the English version.
2.)Click on the penguin next to the big K on the bottom left.
3.)Open root shell
4.)Type in cfdisk
5.)OK this is the part where you delete everything on your hard drive. If you do not to lose every single file on this hard drive forever to install Knoppix close the root window. If you want to install Knoppix delete all of the partitions on the drive. Use the keyboard arrows to select your choices.
6.)Create a swap partition. They say this should be twice the size of your ram. For a small drive use between 250 and 500 meg. The type should default to linux swap so you wont need to worry about the type.
7.)Create the Knoppix partition. Down arrow to the empty space. Select new. Even though the disk is 700 meg I have not had any luck installing on anything smaller than 780 meg. So create the 780 meg partition make sure the type is linux and this partition should be bootable.
8.)Create a partition for your encrypted home. Again anything larger than 350 megs has not worked for me. So make a 350 meg partition make sure the type is Linux.
9.)Make whatever is left a Linux partition.