PDA

View Full Version : KPackage



WolfCub
03-15-2004, 03:27 PM
KPackage is broken in Knoppix when installed to the hard drive. Type kpackage in a shell and try to use apt from it. Does't work for some reason.

CrashedAgain
03-16-2004, 03:51 AM
??? What Knoppix? Are you root? You have to be root to apt-get. But why are you trying to run kpackage from a shell? It's intended to be run from KDE start menu. There it will su to root when it needs it.
Haven't had any trouble with Knx 3.1,3.2 or 3.3 so far.

fingers99
03-16-2004, 06:08 AM
Likewise.

Generally, Kpackage is useful only for installing individual .deb packages (ones which, say, google will find, but can't be found by apt-get because they're not in the depositories listed in your sources.list) it's a vastly inferior tool to apt-get (or, if you want apt-get with a gui front end, almost as good as the "real thing"), Synaptic.

Generally, to use Kpackage you simply click on the .deb. That's all there is to it.