PDA

View Full Version : how can I disable my non-existant floppy? It's causes hang

voldemort_b
03-16-2004, 12:34 AM
Complete newbie to linux here. I have a DELL Latitude laptop (C540 I think, if you're interested). I recently installed Knoppix to my HDD (I know, now it's Debian, not Knoppix) using knoppix-installer. Works fine. I have an external firewire HDD which works fine too, now that I'm using that rescan script. My problem is that because my laptop DOESN'T have a floppy drive, anytime I try to switch to /mnt/exthdd in an app's "open file" dialog box, after typing in "/mnt", my computer freezes for 5 to 10 minutes. A little investigation reveals that it's trying to see what's on my non-existent floppy drive. If I do 'ls /mnt', I see 'floppy' there in the list. So my question is how can I remove my floppy, so that linux won't look for it anymore?

Before posting this, I googled for solutions for this for a few hours. All I found was someone else who had the same problem, but no solutions. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

V.

MorskNorsk
03-16-2004, 11:14 AM
Add this line in /etc/modutils/aliases:

alias block-major-2 off and then reboot.

Stephen
03-16-2004, 09:48 PM
Add this line in /etc/modutils/aliases:

alias block-major-2 off and then reboot.

And you would want to update-modules as root as well to update the /etc/modules.conf with the changes so they will be used on the next boot.

MorskNorsk
03-17-2004, 02:48 AM
Thanks Stephan. Been a while since I've messed with those files on my machine.

voldemort_b
03-18-2004, 02:34 PM
Thanks guys for your help. I did as you said, but unfortunately the problem still exists. Any other ideas?

MorskNorsk
03-19-2004, 03:17 AM
Have you rebooted or anything? Try this and see if it returns a line with block-major-2:

$ grep off /etc/modules.conf

stukennedyuk
03-19-2004, 09:09 AM
Don't you normally disable an unwanted floppy in the BIOS?

voldemort_b
03-19-2004, 02:27 PM