PDA

View Full Version : how to install AIM? Please help

unknown_3
03-17-2004, 06:42 AM
i am new to this linux thing, and i need help install AIM. Please help. THank you

Markus
03-17-2004, 09:37 AM
Knoppix has GAIM which AFAIK is compatible with AIM.

unknown_3
03-17-2004, 05:21 PM
thank u that will work

c123
03-17-2004, 06:33 PM
GAIM is great for all the networks I know of except Yahoo (still cannot connect as Yahoo recently changed their protocol *again*; only way I know of connecting to the Yahoo network is using the official Yahoo client (they offer a .deb :))).

Gaim should be in the menu, otherwise click a shell and type
gaim & (the & backgrounds the app; you can then close the shell without closing Gaim).

Stephen
03-17-2004, 09:53 PM
GAIM is great for all the networks I know of except Yahoo (still cannot connect as Yahoo recently changed their protocol *again*; only way I know of connecting to the Yahoo network is using the official Yahoo client (they offer a .deb :))).

Kopete connects to both Yahoo and MSN with no problems.

champagnemojo
03-17-2004, 11:22 PM
For those of you with hddinstalls of Knoppix, a user named Linuxwhore posted a link on the forums at sourceforge to some patched GAIMs he's built (http://www.linuxwhore.com/gaim/). If you use alien on the Fedora Core 1 rpm it installs great into Knoppix and yahoo works.

c123
03-18-2004, 11:53 AM
arg, then I installed that software from satan (Ymessenger) for nothing? the problem is that the gf will now demand ymessnger on the windows machien (I will use only Gaim or Miranda on windows).

damn, should have looked into kopete :(
double-damn, do I try to install the modded gaim or just get kopete? decisions, decisions...

cheers everyone.

c123
03-18-2004, 07:35 PM
just tried to install kopete. 'apt-get install kopete' wouldn't work:

# apt-get install kopete
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have