PDA

View Full Version : How do I make my Lucent modem work?

WonderAboutLinux
03-17-2004, 04:59 PM
Hi guys!
I'm a newbie in Linux, I recently installed, after have tried as many distros as I could get hold on, DSL (Damnsmall Linux). The distro is very good, and I think it is what I needed. However I seem to be stuck when it comes to the use of Internet. I can't go on the net. I have download drivers for my modem (Lucent I56LVP) but I don't know how to use them, I dunno how to make it work, I need to get command lines to make it work.

As I know that DamnSmall Linux is Knoppix based I thought that I could find much more help in this forum than in any other one!

I have to say guys, this is the best Linux forum ever found on the net. I have never seen such forum keeping in touch and helpful. Keep it up!

Thx guys!

Someone who knows nothing about Linux!

Robin T Cox
03-17-2004, 07:16 PM
Hi WAL

You need to download a copy of the Lucent modem driver tar file ltmodem-8.26a9.tar.gz from: http://www.heby.de/ltmodem

Unfortunately DSL doesn't have the requisite code for compilation, so you will have to derive the drivers in Knoppix. You need 2 files: lt_modem.o and lt_serial.o and these have to be compatible with the kernel used in the versions of Knoppix and DSL you're using.

Having tried to install drivers in DSL in this way, and having got a dial-up connection of sorts, unfortunately I found that it kept bombing out, and giving me DNS errors whenever I tried to access web pages.

On the other hand, Knoppix is easy to get online with, using a Lucent WinModem, and I recommend that you use it. If downloading is a problem, just buy the Knoppix CDROM.

There's a very helpful guide to getting online here:
http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2050#9512

WonderAboutLinux
03-18-2004, 06:35 PM