PDA

View Full Version : newbie: would knoppix be ok on this system?

h0mersimps0n
03-18-2004, 03:14 PM
Hey everyone! Two people have pointed me in the direction of KNOPPIX for my second attempt at linux. I am a medical student with almost NO TIME to spare on this stuff but I absolutely can't deal with the trojans, virus's and spyware that comes along with MS anymore...

My system: (and I NEED this hardware to work)

Computer Model Latitude D600
BIOS Vendor Dell Computer Corporation
BIOS Version A06
BIOS Date 08-19-03
Memory Slot 1 Description [DIMM_A]: 256Mb
Memory Slot 2 Description [DIMM_B]: 256Mb

Network Card = Adapters Broadcom 570x Gigabit Integrated Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport
Dell TrueMobile 1300 WLAN Mini-PCI Card - Packet Scheduler Miniport

DVD/CD-ROM Drives SAMSUNG CDRW/DVD SN-324B
Disk Drives HITACHI_DK23EB-40 37.26Gb
Display Adapters MOBILITY RADEON 9000 32Mb
IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers Intel(R) 82801DBM Ultra ATA Storage Controller - 24CA
Primary IDE Channel
Secondary IDE Channel
Keyboards Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mice and Other Pointing Devices USB Human Interface Device
Alps Touch Pad
Monitors Default Monitor - (Standard monitor types)
Sound Devices SigmaTel C-Major Audio
USB Controllers Intel(R) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C2
Intel(R) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C4
Intel(R) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C7
Intel(r) 82801DB/DBM USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller - 24CD

How ugly or hard would it be for a newbie to get this hardware working with knoppix?

Thanks!

stukennedyuk
03-18-2004, 03:20 PM
The good thing about Knoppix is that you can try it out without having to mess your machine up and check that everything really does work before doing a HD install.

The Knoppix CD is a 'live' CD, so as long as your PC will boot from CD (usually a BIOS setting - 'first boot device - CDROM') then just put the CD in and try it!