PDA

View Full Version : Radeon 9200

pamindic
03-18-2004, 07:27 PM
Can anyone tell this total newbie if a Radeon 9200 graphics card is compatible with Knoppix? If not, what's a good alternative to buy?

Thanks a lot

Pamindic
London

mbmalone
03-18-2004, 07:56 PM
I have one of these cards, too.
I think it has the same problem as the nvidia based cards, in that the drivers are not open source.

It's supposed to work, though.

Michael

martianrobot
03-19-2004, 04:33 PM
I'm not sure about the very latest KNOPPIX release but I am using 3.2 and the 9200 is not detected by the live CD. I have my KNOPPIX installed to hard disk and the same applies. It is useable as it defaults to a safe VESA mode - I've got mine running at 1280x1024 on my TFT screen - it's just a bit laggy as there is no 2D acceleration , let alone 3D.

Does anybody know if the latest KNOPPIX release does detect the newer Radeons? Or the forthcoming 3.4? And if so does it provide hardware acceleration for 2D & 3D?

There are proprietary drivers for all Radeons from the ATI website http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html but these are only available in RPM format, and the package doesnt seem to install under KNOPPIX using the instructions ATI provided, probably because KNOPPIX is debian based. Or am I being dumb and you can install RPMs under KNOPPIX?

The good news is that you can get open source drivers for Radeons, up to and including the 9200. The bad news is that I can't seem to find an easy-to-download-and-install package that will work under KNOPPIX. Does anybody know where and how?

:) Additional good news... I've just found out that the new Xfree86 window system release 4.4.0 has native support for the 9200 built in http://www.xfree86.org/4.4.0/radeon.4.html including accelerated 3D support & even dualhead. Will 4.4.0 be the base for any future KNOPPIX release?

I'm off to try find out how to upgrade to the new Xfree86 now.