PDA

View Full Version : Knopppix actually?

colin stewart
03-19-2004, 05:05 PM
Hi All,

I'm new to knoppix, and also to linux. I've been a computer user for a lot of years though, so I more or less know my way around a desk top, and am a bit rusty with command line stuff in general.

Anyways, I've been sampling a few linux distros, and so far knoppix has impressed me more than just about everything else I've tried.

The thing is, I'm after building a server and have just got in some hardware for it. I would have just fallen for the old M$ line again, but then I thought, hold on, why dont I see if linux can be an alternative.

So there's the main question, can linux, and particularlly knoppix offer me an alternative way to do this, and still have the same functionality.

I won't reel off an endless list of hardware and hopes (just yet) as I imagine you'd have a better idea of what you'd need to know. But in brief, it's an Epia with dual nics built in and has 512Mb ram and a 250Gb Western Digital drive.

As for what I want it to serve, well, I want to know how much it can do, but my likely needs are at least catch mail, serve a web page and maybe ftp to go with that. Also I want it to act as a news server for the rest of the house, since my ISP have a poor news server and the only way to get the best out of it is to check in every 15 minutes and grab the latest in the few groups I take on a regualr basis, that way when I come to read it, the delays in service don't drive me crazy. I may wat to do other stuff as an when I find out about it and it seems useful.

I've been doing all this with Win2000Pro and a handful of cheaper shareware proggies on an aging PIII 667 for a couple of years, but I am painfully aware the the old girl will need a rest soon, and this new one will best be built before than gets to be an issue.