PDA

View Full Version : Where is the location of the programs that are installed

david90schr
03-26-2004, 06:27 PM
I have installed a program called WINE under knoppix 3.3 . I am very new with linux. I used windows already for 8 years and i am 14 years now. I know everything about windows, and i was a real windows fan. Until i saw knoppix 3.2, my brother's is a student and he used knoppix 3.2 at school. I saw it and it was beautiful. And i maked my standard operating system. I deleted all filesystems on each harddrive. And i created on 2 linux ext2 filesystem and at one linux swap and at a another one linuxex3. But i doesnt know this: IF YOU INSTALL A PROGRAM UNDER LINUX/UNIX WHERE IS THE FOLDER WHERE YOU HAVE INSTALLED IT. AND HOW CAN YOU START THE PROGRAM IF YOU DOESNT KNOW WHERE THE BUTTON IS TO ACTIVATE THE PROGRAM. PLEASE TELL ME ITS A NOOB QUESTION BUT I NEED TO KNOW IT.

firebyrd10
03-26-2004, 06:57 PM
Call up a command shell and try typing in wine

But why did you install wine anyway? it comes standard on knoppix.

c123
03-27-2004, 12:24 AM
But i doesnt know this: IF YOU INSTALL A PROGRAM UNDER LINUX/UNIX WHERE IS THE FOLDER WHERE YOU HAVE INSTALLED IT. AND HOW CAN YOU START THE PROGRAM IF YOU DOESNT KNOW WHERE THE BUTTON IS TO ACTIVATE THE PROGRAM. PLEASE TELL ME ITS A NOOB QUESTION BUT I NEED TO KNOW IT.

Just like Windows, a program can be installed anywhere... With Debian packages things are pretty organized though. To find out where a program lives, one option is to use 'locate'. It's pretty quick as it consults a database. To keep the database up to date, use 'locatedb' (as root).