PDA

View Full Version : SW/RAID with 2 SCSI-HDS



scoozme
02-24-2003, 07:27 AM
Hi,

Before I go ahead and attempt to make an array out of my drives, does the default knoppix kernel support SW/RAID ? I have 3.1 installed on a box with 2 SCSI disks that are identical. One is unused so, now i want to try SW/RAID.

:? Ray

RockMumbles
02-24-2003, 07:50 AM
Look into " md " it's been quite a while since I played with it, so I can't help you any more than that. The md stuff is in raidtools (apt-get install raidtools)

HTH

rock

abp
03-13-2003, 11:59 PM
Before I go ahead and attempt to make an array out of my drives, does the default knoppix kernel support SW/RAID ?

Yes as a module, but if you wan't to boot from it, you'll have to compile it into the kernel
:shock:

I find that mdadm is the best tool for administrating softwareraid - of which I know. :wink:

iocain
04-06-2003, 04:44 AM
Well, you can create an initrd which loads the necessary MD RAID modules on startup. This is what I did in order to get a system up to the point where I could build a fresh kernel with MD support built in (after copying the relevant modules into the initrd's /modules/)...

#!/static/sh
insmod /modules/jbd.o
insmod /modules/ext3.o
insmod /modules/md.o
insmod /modules/xor.o
insmod /modules/raid1.o
insmod /modules/raid5.o
/sbin/mdadm -Es >> /etc/mdadm/mdadm.conf
/sbin/mdadm -As
mount -t proc proc /proc
echo 256 > /proc/sys/kernel/real-root-dev
umount /proc
mount -t ext3 /dev/md4 /mnt
/static/pivot_root /mnt /mnt/initrd