PDA

View Full Version : kpackage password problem

extradudeguy
03-29-2004, 07:26 AM
I am trying to get my kpackage program to accept my password.

I am running 3.3 installed on my hard drive. During installation, I was asked to give it a password which I did for both root and user. Now my "user" is Knoppix which is wrong, but whatever. I have tried everything to get root to work for kpackage.

Also I am not able to type my password in the password prompt in kpackage as it will not let me type, litterally.

I am brand new to Linux and need a hand.

Thanks

Valhalla
03-29-2004, 07:39 AM
Ok, first of all knoppix is the default name for user in knoppix, make sure that the little flag by your clock is US (I am assuming you are American or using an english keyboard), language settings effect the keyboard layout. If the fag says de then your typing in German, which is default. You need to click the flag to change it to english or better yet r click go to configure language, select english then disable keyboard layouts, this will fix it for good. The text you type in the box is always invisible so even though you don't see it, you are still typing.

extradudeguy
03-29-2004, 07:44 AM
Thanks for the reply.

Actually that is all set and I am set up for a qwerty KB.

It is the password prompt in kpackage that is really giving me a head ache. It wants the "root password". Ok, so I go to type what "should" be the root password and it will not display any letters.

Any thoughts? :)

extradudeguy
03-29-2004, 07:46 AM
Oh wait, I see....so even when nothing is being displayed and the cursor is not moving it is still typing correctly?

Then by all rights my password "should" have been working then in the prompt box. Wonder why it is not then...any thoughts?

Valhalla
03-29-2004, 07:55 AM