PDA

View Full Version : Sagem 800 usb modem with Knoppix live cd

samjor
04-01-2004, 03:18 PM
Hi I recenlty downloaded Knoppix live cd, but am having trouble installing the drivers and configuring the modem, is this possible with Live cd. Am an absolute newbie to Linux and would need to have things explained to me in the simplest form, I have looked though the forum threads and have came across some topics relating to my problem but I havent had much luck as I dont have much of an understanding of command lines and kernals and stuff. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

fozzieb
04-27-2004, 01:52 PM
I'm same problem, I use tiscali and they gave me a Sagem F@st 800 usb (only) modem, I cant get it to work under Linux (not just knoppix)

Does anyone have any idea's?

flaviusc
04-27-2004, 06:25 PM
This is the thread for me :), I just hope that someone will show a solution to our problem.

fozzieb
04-28-2004, 10:45 AM
I have a linux driver and instructions that i got from the sagem web site, but i have not had time to try them.

www.sagem.com

Patrick_uk
05-04-2004, 10:02 PM
I have downloaded the Linux driver fast800.2.0.7_fr from www.sagem.com but cannot make it work. USBview shows ADSL-USB and the adsl modem LED is off.
Whenever I try to install, Knoppix says to use debian alien.
I have the Sagem instal notes but can't make it work.
I have also downloaded BitDefender anti-virus for Linux, but cannot install that either, always get the 'alien' message.

Solving this would clearly help a lot of people. Can someone please give us the command/options for a clean install.

I thank you in advance.

Edit:- 21-May-2004
Sagem have told me that their Linux driver fast800.2.0.7_fr
is only for redhat, mandrak and suse :roll:

divali
07-08-2005, 02:26 PM
I am inthe same situation but am about to use Eagl-usb driver. You might want to give it a go. I will let you know how I get on. Watch this space.
divali.

lig1uk
08-02-2005, 10:22 PM