PDA

View Full Version : Help please!!! Kernel panic: Attempted to kill init

voldemort_b
04-01-2004, 06:16 PM
I think that *I*'m panicing more than my kernel!

I'm in serious trouble. PLEASE, someone, help me!

Let me preface by saying that I'm a complete and total newbie, so I need you to please be specific about how exactly I need to go about doing whatever needs to be done.

I have a dell latitude computer. It had winXP on it. Recently I reformatted the hard drive, repartitioned it, and made it dual boot - winXP and Debian unstable (which I installed off of the Knoppix disc). Since then, I've been using linux mostly, and grown to like it very much.

My hard disk is partitioned as follows:
hda1 is a dell thingy that I never use, only a few MBs big. In windows, I never knew it even existed.
hda2 is NTFS with the windows system on it.
hda3 is ext3 with the linux system on it.
hda4 is an extended partition, with:
hda5 - a 400MB swap partition for linux, and
hda6 - a fat32 partition for storing data files that I'd use both in windows and in linux.

My linux partition became full, so I decided to move some empty space (2 gigs) from my windows partition to the linux one.

First I used qtparted to shrink my windows partition. Everything appeared to work fine. Then I logged into windows. I figured I shouldn't be playing around with my linux partition while linux was running from it. So, inside windows, I used Partition Magic to expand my linux partition.

A few minutes into the procedure, the computer crashed with a "blue screen of death". How scary.

When I tried to reboot, my lilo was gone. completely gone. Instead, when I booted up, it just gave me a screen with one L and a whole bunch of 9's afterwards, and got stuck there. I was only able to boot up with the Knoppix CD.