PDA

View Full Version : JavaIDE With Knoppix

Tekmaven
02-25-2003, 04:50 AM
Is there anyway to get/install/integrate a Java IDE in Knoppix? I run a high school java programing class, and Knoppix would be perfect!

I'm not very good at Linux, so I would have no idea where to start when making a custom Knoppix cd. Can anyone here help? I was interested in integrating Borland JBuilder Personal (free).

A. Jorge Garcia
02-25-2003, 06:45 AM
I have a CD with IBM Eclipse on it, but it loads up very slowly. Please see my website listed below!

BTW, you don't really need an IDE. I use a text editor to write code for Java (like KATE) and a console window to run javac and java (like KONSOLE). If you're running an applet, write the appropriate *.html file to load it and open from a browser (like KONQUEROR). That's all I use!

NB: javac and java on the KNOPPIX CD are really running an open source Java from the GCC project http://gcc.gnu.org called gcj. I currently teach AP Computer Science using KNOPPIX and g++ from gcc. J2SE 1.4.1 (JDK) is not open source, so its not included in KNOPPIX. The JRE is from Blackdown Java 1.3.

Good Luck,

Tekmaven
02-25-2003, 01:17 PM
I'm working with beginer kids, and they can't handle a straight text editor. They need a more advanced development package, with features like intellisense.

As for the cd with IBM Eclipse, I don't see it on your site. Also, if it is on your site, could you just transfer it to me? I'm on broadband, and even $10 is more then my school wants to put out for technology these days.

Tekmaven
02-25-2003, 02:01 PM
Does Knoppix include any JavaX classes? Javax says the swing class isn't there. Here is my app:

import javax.swing.*;
import java.text.*;

public class Average2 {
public static void main (String[] args) {
double num1, num2, num3, avg;
String input;
DecimalFormat db = new DecimalFormat("###.00");
input = JOptionPane.showInputDialog("Enter a number:");
num1 = Double.parseDouble(input);