PDA

View Full Version : Can't get my MA401 wifi card working on Knoppix

charlie126
04-13-2004, 11:32 PM
I have installed Knoppix onto my hard disk (laptop M700) as i liked it very much. But my wireless network just does not seem to work. I am very new to Linux so i don’t really know where to start diagnosing.

I know that the card works fines with my Netgear FM114p router because I used to use it with Windows XP.I have no problems connecting to my laptop, to the Internet via router when I am using cables with my 3com PCMCIA network card.

Is there any chance someone can guide me through the process of getting this card working? Please

I have taken off all encryption; I have the router set as a DHCP. (Where would I need to go in Knoppix to give the card a static IP?

The green light at present on the card just keeps on flashing.

The Knoppix kernel version I am using is 2.4.24 I have also tried to configure it though Wavelan Configuration, looks like I am configuring it wrong somewhere.

I have also been on the Netgear website and followed the instructions on installing there driver. But it refuses to install. Kernel error?? (driver name: ma401_redhat73_driver)

I can provide you any information necessary

Thank you in advance

Charlie

charlie126
04-14-2004, 12:06 AM
I have just managed to get it working......not exactly sure how. I viewed a few setting using the following commands: - 'dmesg', 'lspci' and the when i entered 'iwconfig' the green LED stopped flashing indicating connectivity.

Next thing is that i want to setup encryption. How and where would i do this??

Any suggestions ??

aay
04-14-2004, 03:46 AM
If you run netcardconfig as root, a dialog will walk you through all the settings for your card.

Durand Hicks
04-14-2004, 04:49 AM
How do you want to do this, the easy way or the hard way?
The easy way: open console as root and type: netcardconfig and enter your parameters as necessary.