PDA

View Full Version : Writing to / and subdirs.

bikerman
04-14-2004, 02:11 PM
Hi, folks.

I searched hi and low before asking this because I felt sure someone else would have had the question. But I couldn't find a single one! Maybe I'm just dense. :) I'm not a newbie to Linux by any means, but I am fairly new to Knoppix...though I have managed to remaster a time or two.

I would like to be able to install software (debs for example, or just software I compile under knoppix) on the running knoppix system. I don't want to remaster and don't want the changes to stick, just want to play with something new. But I can't b/c the root filesystem is always mounted read-only. I tried

# mount -o remount,rw /dev/cloop /KNOPPIX

and was able to write to /, but still couldn't write to any subdirs. Is there a trick or am I wanting to do the impossible?

Many thanks,
Ben

Cuddles
04-15-2004, 12:22 AM
BikerMan,

First, I assume you are running off the CD, right? (Or, do you have Knoppix booted/installed on your hard drive?)

Using the CD, or installed on the hard drive, can change the whole response to your question...

From what I have found out, and this is from having Knoppix installed on my hard drive, for more than a few months now... I have needed to "put" files in locations on my hard drive, that are NOT just in my /home folder, some are programs, binary files, and even "shared" documents...

First problem is the device itself, it can be mounted Read-Only, appears you have gotten around that little hitch - the second is permissions. You have three sets of permissions, each of these can have three kinds of settings, as well. The permissions are for: User, Group, and Other. The user would probably be for the person who created the source. Group would be for the "group" the user is associated with, and lastly, Other would be for any one not the User, or in the Group. A "source" can be either a folder, or a file, the file can be a document, binary (program), or folder.