PDA

View Full Version : How can I boot the Knoppix.iso from HD directly



Robert Michel
02-28-2003, 03:56 PM
Salve

I want to write how to use Knoppix for laptop installations
without a CD-Rom. With the help of an running OS or with
plugin the hd in a runnig PC is it possible to Copy the
ISO to the hd.

:arrow: mount Knoppix.iso /mnt/mountpoint-koppix -o loop -t iso9660

makes the iso readable. It would be possibel to copy -R this,
but for copying would be >2GB space nesseccary (because Knoppix
is compressed)

:?: Can Grub mount and boot a iso? How? Do you have ideas?
Or is there a way to make a preinstall hd-installation which
allow to configure for special hardware on boot-time, and save
this for next-bootings. Such a skript would be smart, that
the hd could be used as boot hd in several PCs - not only Laptops.
I hope you got my point and have an idea how to do this.

Greetings
rob

PS: excuse my German posting 2 days ago - I was thinking to
much about Knoppix to forgot which language I used ;)

primetime
02-28-2003, 09:05 PM
If you already burned the downloaded Knoppix ISO to a CDROM, you'll find a directory there called "knoppix"

Example: ( D: is your cdrom drive)

D:\knoppix

Copy that directory to a directory on your hard drive (i. e. C:\knoppix )

Make a boot floppy using the mkfloppy.bat file in the Knoppix directory.

Now when you start your computer, make sure the boot floppy is in, when it boots up, it'll search for the Knoppix directory (in the cdrom drive first, then on your hard drives) once it finds the Knoppix directory on your hard drive, it boot normally using that image on the hard drive.

Note: Make sure you don't have the Knoppix CDRom in your CD drive or else that's the one it'll load.

probono
02-28-2003, 10:55 PM
If you have a installation of LILO, you even can add Knoppix to that and therefore have no need for the floppy!

Robert Michel
02-28-2003, 11:13 PM
Salve,

thanks for your answers. But my point was that I want to save
diskspace and want to boot the ISO directly. Klaus had copressed a
lot of datas on the CD. The iso is 700MB large, but copping all this
to hd would need > 2 GB. I haven't no problem to install it, but I want to discribe a more smart/easyer way :)

To copy Knoppix on the hd, to boot it from hd and install it on hd
is one thinkable way (Smart also for updating Knoppix)
A discription how to boot the iso-image form the hd would be
good for Knoppix-developer :wink:

Rob
PS: When we have a description for this, we can find a way how
to boot the iso from a ftp-server via network :roll:

oscar
03-02-2003, 12:14 AM
Salve,

thanks for your answers. But my point was that I want to save
diskspace and want to boot the ISO directly. Klaus had copressed a
lot of datas on the CD. The iso is 700MB large, but copping all this to hd would need > 2 GB. :roll:

No at all. After extraction the iso image is 700mb. if you copy the the knoppix folder to the hd (read above) it will need 700mb.

Robert Michel
03-02-2003, 12:46 AM
Thanks Oscar,

this is fine, I will use it now.
But a way to boot a ISO directly would be smarter
- faster
- more handy (an ISO ready for burn another CD as giveaway)
- a step to a solution to boot a iso directely from a ftp-server

I have open a new WIKI-page:
http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/FaqHdBased
Please read it and correct/modify it.

Greetings
rob