PDA

View Full Version : How to make Lisa daemon run automatically?



IsaacKuo
04-23-2004, 04:40 PM
My newbie question: How do I make lisa run automatically upon startup?

I trying to get my Linux box to communicate with my Windows machines. I've had success using LinNeighborhood to detect and mount Windows shares, but ONLY after manually running "lisa". Otherwise, LinNeighborhood complains that the lisa daemon isn't running.

Do I need to manually edit some sort of run level 5 script, or something?

Thanks for any help!

Durand Hicks
04-23-2004, 05:12 PM
You could try
update-rc.d lisa defaults That will put lisa into the rc. folders for starting up at boot.

HTH,

Durand

marhleet
02-21-2005, 09:10 AM
You could try
Code:
update-rc.d lisa defaults

That will put lisa into the rc. folders for starting up at boot.

it sure put something somewhere.....
hmmm, i haven't rebooted yet, bare with me.....

I went back to my folder what needs sharing, and pressed the config button, still nothing.
I'll try rebooting.....

pureone
02-21-2005, 09:17 AM
sudo rcconf

use space button to turn things on and off at boot up. and tab to exit.

marhleet
02-21-2005, 06:58 PM
hmmmm.....

su
password:
sudo rcconf
sudo: rcconf: command not found.........

NEXT!?......
(thanx for trying ;-) )

pureone
02-21-2005, 10:59 PM
apt-get install rcconf

when in doubt check apt-cache

you dont need to su then sudo. sudo is just a replacement for su so you can do admintasks much quicker.

marhleet
02-22-2005, 09:03 AM
when in doubt, and when one knows,... then.... 8)

when a newbie, i know nothing about rcconf, or apt-get or K(anything) :cry:
thass why we is asking ;-)

Durand Hicks
02-24-2005, 05:43 AM
Do it this way;

sudo su
update-rc.d lisa defaults
/etc/init.d/lisa start
exit


or alternatively you can do this as well:

sudo su
dpkg-reconfigure lisa
exit


Both commands will put the startup scripts for lisa into the runlevel folders, but the second suggestion will also start lisa in one shot.