PDA

View Full Version : root password

kornface13
04-28-2004, 12:15 PM
I dont know what the root password is on Knoppix 3.3. I was just playing around trying to change login settings but I dont know the root password. Any help would be great.

roger_girardin
04-28-2004, 12:45 PM
if you type :
su root
then enter on a konsole terminal, you will be logged as root on that console

then any application you launch since the term will take the root privileges

i hope it helped

{Orceph}Rye
04-30-2004, 02:27 AM
That didn't seam to work for me or did i do it wrong. I am not sure, I am new to linux so please forgive me but were would i type 'su root'?

Cuddles
04-30-2004, 02:05 PM
{Orceph}Rye,

May I suggest, the vast previous postings, and answers, found within this fabulous forum :?:

Try typing "root password" or "root" & "password" in the box found at the top of this topic, or even at the forum index, the box labeled "Search Knoppix.net" ...

I KNOW of at least 15 postings/threads that have not only asked the exact same question you have, but have also given answers to the exact same question you have asked.

Upon searching these forums for your answer, you will not only find your answer, but you just may realize that your question has been answered hundereds of times, already. You may try the search first, then ask, if you can't locate your problem. I have found that many of the postings on these forums have REPEATED many times, because someone hasn't done a search beforehand. The ROOT PASSWORD, is by far, repeated more times in new postings than any other question on these boards.