Thread: Apt-get stalls on cable cable connection

Apt-get stalls on cable cable connection

I'm new to Knoppix and Debian. Do you have any idea why apt-get stalls randomly, after accessing a certain amount of mirrors when doing "apt-get update"? The only way out is to Ctrl-C and then repeat, but it happens again, so "apt-get update" is practically unusable for me.
    I did a thorough web search on combinations of apt-get, TCP, stall, stalls, stalling, etc., but nothing really came out, except that certain cable internet providers seem to have "broken software".
    My IP is received via DHCP.
    The interesting thing is that my internet access using other applications under Knoppix has no problems.
    Aso, apt-get install [someapp] works without problems. Probably the stalling problems stem from the fact that doing "apt-get update" involves making too many outgoing connections in a certain way or in a short time. Perhaps someone would have a clue? What configuration options could potentially influence this positively?

Senior Member registered user
    When you do the update is it the same source where you are getting the the programs from that stall? You can always change the sources you get the programs from in the /etc/apt/sources.list to a mirror closer to your actual location and see if that helps. Unofficial list of apt sources.

No, the source is "random". Yes, I've tried changing /etc/apt/sources.list, even used apt-spy to find the supposedly fastest and more reliable mirrors, but nothing really changes.