Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: HELP KNOPPIX Installation - DUAL BOOT with XP

Junior Member registered user

HELP KNOPPIX Installation - DUAL BOOT with XP

I have zero knowledge in Linux platform. please help me to intall knoppix on my laptop dual boot with my XP. I have 3 parititons:
    C: XP OS
    D: Free
    E: Data drive
    All are in NTFS. I want to install knoppix on D drive as singel parittion, dual boot with XP but i want to use my XP boot loader to select OS, SO if in case something happens, I can boot from XP and still my laptop is ok.

Please help me how to install it in step by step procedure....

What should be FILE FORMAT on my D drive so it will be detected by knoppix?
    I need to boot from FLOPPY because my external CD drive is not bootable for its USB type of drive.

Please help.. thanks...

P.S. Im using a SONY PICTUREBOOK C1MW

Senior Member registered user
    For a HD install Kanotix is worth looking at as an alternative. I dual boot Kanotix with Windows XP on a desktop and laptop. The GUI installer on Kanotix is excellent.

What size is your D drive?

I would transfer E data to D. Convert E to FAT32 for safe file interchange between Windows and Linux (although reports on NTFS-3g suggest it is totally 'safe' - depends how conservative you are). You can then transfer the files back and use D for Linux.

A possible set-up would be to convert D to three partitions - a linux swap (say 0.5GB), kanotix (say 6GB) and separate /home (say 6GB) partition. 12.5GB is the minimum (total) for these three partitions for reasonable flexibility and future programme additions but you could get away with much less.

Junior Member registered user

Hi

Thanks for the reply. I have the following:

C: XP aorund 17GB NTFS
    D: Freee Space 17GB FAT32
    E: Data 40GB NTFS

Shalll I just rename and SWAP the Drive letters or better delete partition and recreate it as D: 40GB NTFS and E: FAT32 Free for KNOPPIX?