Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 71

Thread: 6.7.1 DVD Weakest Link

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    136

    6.7.1 DVD Weakest Link

    RE: 6.71 DVD weakest Link: Network Functionality
    # MD5 checksums generated by MD5summer (http://www.md5summer.org)
    # Generated 2/15/2012 9:11:08 PM
    90c0a0acbbd954145b6f55ca36e2e87f *KNOPPIX_V6.7.1DVD-2011-09-14-EN.iso_EXP
    90c0a0acbbd954145b6f55ca36e2e87f *KNOPPIX_V6.7.1DVD-2011-09-14-EN.iso_ACT
    Hi,
    1) Only Chromium browser functions ok.
    2) 6.7.1 Firewall does not recognize Persistent 'Knoppix-data.img'?
    3) MAC80211 stack/b43 wireless card driver missing?



    Any help/support?
    THX
    Luther, new to the Linux world!
    PS. Mint installed OotB following:
    apt-get install b43-fwcutter
    apt-get install b43-fwcutter firmware-b43-installer
    *******
    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ sudo ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0f:b0:fa:e5:31
    inet addr:192.168.0.71 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20f:b0ff:fefa:e531/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:507 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:31480 (30.7 KiB) TX bytes:1272 (1.2 KiB)
    Interrupt:22 Base address:0xa000
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:440 (440.0 B) TX bytes:440 (440.0 B)

    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ lspci -vnn | grep 14e4
    06:02.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g
    Wireless LAN Controller [14e4:4318] (rev 02)

    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ sudo unname -a
    sudo: unname: command not found

    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ lspci -vvn|grep 43 -a7
    Bus: primary=00, secondary=02, subordinate=03, sec-latency=0
    Secondary status: 66MHz- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort-
    <SERR- <PERRBridgeCtl:
    Parity- SERR- NoISA- VGA- MAbort- >Reset- FastB2BPriDiscTmr-
    SecDiscTmr- DiscTmrStat- DiscTmrSERREn-
    Capabilities: <access denied>
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport


    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ sudo dmesg
    : No partition found (1)
    [ 2.395325] scsi 2:0:0:0: Direct-Access Lexar USB Flash Drive 8.07 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
    [ 2.395843] sd 2:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg2 type 0
    [ 2.396934] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] 15663104 512-byte logical blocks: (8.01 GB/7.46 GiB)
    [ 2.397426] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
    [ 2.397430] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Mode Sense: 03 00 00 00
    [ 2.397927] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] No Caching mode page present
    [ 2.397930] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
    [ 2.400312] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] No Caching mode page present
    [ 2.400315] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
    [ 2.523709] attempt to access beyond end of device
    [ 2.523714] sda3: rw=0, want=66, limit=2
    [ 2.523718] isofs_fill_super: bread failed, dev=sda3, iso_blknum=16, block=32
    [ 2.531690] attempt to access beyond end of device
    [ 2.531695] sda3: rw=0, want=18, limit=2
    [ 2.531702] REISERFS warning (device sda3): sh-2006 read_super_block: bread failed (dev sda3,
    block 8, size 1024)
    [ 2.531709] attempt to access beyond end of device
    [ 2.531712] sda3: rw=0, want=130, limit=2
    [ 2.531717] REISERFS warning (device sda3): sh-2006 read_super_block: bread failed (dev sda3,
    block 64, size 1024)
    [ 2.537042] attempt to access beyond end of device
    [ 2.537045] sda3: rw=0, want=4, limit=2
    [ 2.537049] EXT4-fs (sda3): unable to read superblock
    ************

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    136

    konqueror trace

    Hi,
    Typing "konqueror" on the command line provides this trace log:
    **********
    Connecting to deprecated signal
    QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QStr ing,QString,QString)
    kbuildsycoca4 running...
    konqueror(3456)/kdecore (KLibrary) findLibraryInternal: plugins should not have a 'lib' prefix:
    "libkhtmlpart.so"
    konqueror(3456)/kdecore (KLibrary) kde4Factory: The library "/usr/lib/kde4/khtml_kget.so" does
    not offer a qt_plugin_instance function.
    konqueror(3456)/kdecore (KLibrary) findLibraryInternal: plugins should not have a 'lib' prefix:
    "libkhtmlpart.so"
    konqueror(3456)/kdeui (kdelibs): Attempt to use QAction "iceweasel" with KXMLGUIFactory!
    konqueror(3456)/kdeui (kdelibs): Attempt to use QAction "epiphany" with KXMLGUIFactory!
    konqueror(3456)/kdeui (kdelibs): Attempt to use QAction "" with KXMLGUIFactory!
    QSslSocket: cannot resolve SSLv2_client_method
    QSslSocket: cannot resolve SSLv2_server_method
    QPainter::begin: Widget painting can only begin as a result of a paintEvent
    QPainter::translate: Painter not active
    QPainter::setClipRect: Painter not active
    QPainter::hasClipping: Painter not active
    QPainter::setPen: Painter not active
    QPainter::setBrush: Painter not active
    QPainter::drawRects: Painter not active
    ************
    Your comments?
    Thanks for your support,
    Luther

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    136

    Jump Started

    Hi,

    Plugging the DNS settings into X's network-admin, got internet connection jump started.
    On a live USB, there appears a dummy lock for network-admin.

    Question 1:
    Can n-a settings be saved on the flash stick?

    Question 2:
    What is the network-admin equivalent for Adriane, so Elinks can get connected to the internet?

    Kind Regards,
    luther

  4. #4
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    744
    Hi, 1) Only Chromium browser functions ok.
    2) 6.7.1 Firewall does not recognize Persistent 'Knoppix-data.img'?
    3) MAC80211 stack/b43 wireless card driver missing?
    How do you use your Knoppix DVD download? From DVD, flash disk install, HD installation?
    First of all try the cheatcode "knoppix testcd".

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by Werner P. Schulz View Post
    How do you use your Knoppix DVD download? From DVD, flash disk install, HD installation?
    First of all try the cheatcode "knoppix testcd".
    Hi,

    "knoppix testcd" reported:
    Checking KNOPPIX/background.jpg ... Failed!
    Checking KNOPPIX/SOURCES.TXT ...
    Continue anyway? [ y/N ]

    Chromium reported:
    Error 137 (net::ERR_NAME_RESOLUTION_FAILED): unknown error
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Please refer to:
    http://www.mninter.net/~pfourier/screen1.zip

    This zip shows installed flash stick footprint and
    the reason why background.jpg failed 6.7.1 testcd.

    Thanks for reply, Werner!
    luther
    PS. HD install cannot work on this USB setup.

  6. #6
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    744
    "knoppix testcd" reported:
    Checking KNOPPIX/background.jpg ... Failed!
    If "knoppix testcd" reports any error, especially within KNOPPIX, there is no need to analyze your other curious problems. The DVD is damaged!

    Burn another DVD and test the integrity first.
    Last edited by Werner P. Schulz; 03-31-2012 at 10:48 AM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by Werner P. Schulz View Post
    If &quot;knoppix testcd&quot; reports any error, especially within KNOPPIX, there is no need to analyze your other curious problems. The DVD is damaged!

    Burn another DVD and test the integrity first.
    Dear Werner: My previous post was a testcd of the USB device (flash). At your suggestion, the actual DVD testcd results were:
    Code:
    knoppix 6 found at: /dev/sr0 
    Checking KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX ... All files OK.
    I'm sending this post from 6.7.1 flash install w/Iceweasel. The TRICK was to plug the correct NAMESERVER address into "netcardconfig", e.g.:
    Code:
    sudo netcardconfig
    In netcardconfig, "nameserver" defaults to "gateway", which must be changed to get internet connection to the router port. The new "nameserver" address cannot be saved to flash, so it simply has to be entered each session.

    My question is, what is the "netcardconfig" equivalent for Adriane? I see NO mention of "nameserver" in Adriane, that Elinks can reference. Elinks DOES function in X-desktop, but doesn't in Adriane. Thanks for the reply! luther
    Last edited by Werner P. Schulz; 04-01-2012 at 08:59 AM. Reason: formatted by moderator

  8. #8
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    744
    2) 6.7.1 Firewall does not recognize Persistent 'Knoppix-data.img'?
    There is an error in the script
    http://lists.debian.org/debian-knopp.../msg00001.html

    sudo: unname: command not found
    Try
    Code:
    uname -a
    I'm sending this post from 6.7.1 flash install w/Iceweasel.
    Please tell us the output from
    Code:
    df -h
    (the screenshot is confusing for me).

    By the way, do you really need Adriane, the Knoppix version for blind people?

    The NetworkManager Applet left the clock in the panel does not work for you?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by Werner P. Schulz View Post
    There is an error in the script
    http://lists.debian.org/debian-knopp.../msg00001.html

    Try
    Code:
    uname -a
    Please tell us the output from
    Code:
    df -h
    (the screenshot is confusing for me).

    By the way, do you really need Adriane, the Knoppix version for blind people?

    The NetworkManager Applet left the clock in the panel does not work for you?
    Hi, I found this firewall patch on the forum: "sudo nano /usr/sbin/firewall" ** I changed "KNOPPIX.IMG" to "KNOPPIX-DATA" Shouldn't this be correct?

    Please enlighten me on: "sudo: unname: command not found" and also: "uname -a"

    Here is the output from code: df -h
    Code:
    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ sudo df -h
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on 
    /dev/sdb1             6.5G  6.5G  1.4M 100% /mnt-system 
    tmpfs                 2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /ramdisk 
    /dev/cloop            8.7G  8.7G     0 100% /KNOPPIX 
    /dev/loop0            2.8G  885M  1.9G  32% /KNOPPIX-DATA 
    unionfs               2.8G  885M  1.9G  32% /UNIONFS 
    unionfs               2.8G  885M  1.9G  32% /usr 
    unionfs               2.8G  885M  1.9G  32% /home 
    tmpfs                  10M   56K   10M   1% /UNIONFS/var/run 
    tmpfs                  10M  2.8M  7.3M  28% /run 
    tmpfs                  10M     0   10M   0% /UNIONFS/var/lock 
    tmpfs                 100M   76K  100M   1% /UNIONFS/var/log 
    tmpfs                 2.0G   12K  2.0G   1% /tmp 
    udev                   20M   32K   20M   1% /dev 
    tmpfs                 2.0G  148K  2.0G   1% /dev/shm 
    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$
    The screenshot is confusing simply because I swapped out "background.jpg" with an earlier release. I can't imagine this mod effecting functionality. My question to you, Werner, is using a 1 GB Linix/Swap file in flash. Is it relevant?

    As far as using Adriane, it appears the ONLY alternative to get Knoppix to work on my older hp dt PC with 95MB RAM. I'm quite sure "nameserver" defaults to "gateway", which needs to be changed inorder to get Elinks on the 'net, like it does w/X-desktop. The clock applet is excess baggage and can be removed, if possible. Thanks for replying to my post. luther PS. Posted w/6.7.1 flash installation


    ---------------------------------------
    Please use the "Go Advanced" button to have more abilities to format the posting; before sending your posting use "Preview" to see how it looks like.
    Last edited by Werner P. Schulz; 04-01-2012 at 07:40 AM. Reason: formatted by moderator

  10. #10
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    744
    If you allready changed the firewall script, it's ok.

    unname != uname

    You can start Knoppix with cheatcode "knoppix 2" to start with text-console.
    Adriane uses "knoppix-network-manager" or alternativ "network-setup".
    The other way to get the network-settings is: Type
    Code:
    adriane
    within the console and then select "Setup".
    Last edited by Werner P. Schulz; 04-01-2012 at 04:33 PM.

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •